GVL Teams Ready For Association Championships

The open team chosen to represent the Goulburn Valley League will be determined to return to the number one ranking this year when they participate in the Netball Victoria Association Championships this Sunday 17 June at the State Netball Hockey Centre in Melbourne.

After a narrow one goal loss to the Bellarine FNL in last year’s semi-final, the team is determined to take the extra couple of steps needed to take out this year’s competition.

The Bendigo Football Netball League will be the team to beat, having won the Championships last year.

Despite strong performances from the Goulburn Valley League in the recent past, having made the final 4 in three of the past four years, the GVL has not won the Championships since they went back-to-back in 2012/13.

Championship winning coach Tracey Brereton believes her team has what it takes to win on Sunday.

“We’ve had several changes from last year’s team, but I’m very confident we have a very strong team travelling to Melbourne” she said.

“We feel we have the right personnel, with the correct body types, that can take us deep into this competition.”

The open team will be joined in Melbourne this year with the League’s 17 & Under team, who were successful in winning the zone championships in Wangaratta recently.

Coached by Shepparton United’s Di Hanslow, the 17 & Under team are also contenders to take out the State Championships following their strong performance at Wangaratta.

GOTAFE GVL – 2018 Association Championships Open Team

Echuca – Sheridan Townrow

Kyabram – Lauren Pryde

Mooroopna – Mia Fallon

Shepparton – Ashlee Cann, Kate Durling, Morgan Gibson, Stephanie Gorrie, Laura Ryan

Shepp Swans – Jana Bruinier Shepp United – Jessie Barnes Tatura – Brylee Schache

Coach – Tracey Brereton (Shepparton)

Asst Coach – Julie Telford (Shepp Swans)

Team Manager – Kerry Kelton (Mooroopna)

Trainer – Kate Johnstone (Shepparton)

GOTAFE GVL – 2018 Association Championships 17 & Under Team

Echuca – Bridget Byrne, Meg Eishold, Claudia Mawson, Meg Rohde

Rochester – Tess Teggelove

Shepparton – Andriana Oliver

Shepp United – Isobelle Bradford, Elle Brooks, Laura Cole, Dakoda Emery, Olivia Kirby, Georgia Harrison

Coach – Di Hanslow (Shepp United)

Asst Coach – Rachel Whipp (Rochester)

Team Manager – Stacey Cole (Shepp United)

Trainer – Kate Johnstone (Shepparton)


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.