2017 SBL Fixtures Released

The State Basketball League has released the fixtures for the 2017 Season (see PDF below).

The SBL Pre-Season Blitz Tournament will take place on March 4 & 5 at Warwick Stadium where all teams will play off in a number of exhibition matches prior to the regular season tipping off on March 17.

The Sixty 30 Joondalup City Wolves will have their first look at redemption from last year’s Grand Final when they meet the 2016 Champions the Cockburn Cougars in the first round.

In an exciting move by the SBL, all games over the Easter Weekend will be played on a blockbuster Thursday night with six venues all hosting games before the league takes a break for the Easter long weekend.

Geraldton and Goldfields will both have a general bye over the Easter round, later playing back to back games against one another in Week 12.

Anzac Round will take place again in week 6 of the competition with the Kalamunda Eastern Suns and Willetton Tigers continuing their Anzac Day game tradition while being joined this year by the Cockburn Cougars hosting the Rockingham Flames on the Tuesday afternoon.

The new concept of Women’s Round is a welcomed addition to the fixture in Week 9 aligning with Mother’s Day on the Sunday.

During this round the SBL will trial the Women’s games being played at the later timeslot at each venue following the Men’s games.

“The round is an important initiative to recognise the contribution women make to the game” said SBL General Manager Adam Bowler.

“It’s is about celebrating and promoting women’s basketball, from playing and coaching roles, to our volunteers, referees and all the women who work in the game and make it great”.

Rivalry Round in Week 12 is an added concept to the fixture which the SBL hopes to grow into an annual tradition where all teams will be matched up against their rival team based on their home location.

On WA Day, June 5, following the fixtured games in Week 12, the North and South All-Star Games will take place as the SBL and WA Basketball community again look to raise vital funds for Lifeline WA.

Heritage Round will be held in Week 16 of the competition where all teams will be encouraged to celebrate their individual clubs history and reconnect with past players and coaches.

In an exciting move for 2017, Geraldton & Goldfields will be included into this year’s Men’s SBL Division 1 competition (formerly known as D-League), while South West will be added to both the Men’s and Women’s leagues.

This will see some Division 1 games being played prior to SBL games involving the regional teams which Bowler said the League is excited about.

“Geraldton, Goldfields and South West game nights will be even more exciting with Division 1 games being played as curtain raisers to the SBL games” stated Bowler.

“Most importantly this new concept allows a pathway and development opportunity for players in the regional areas”.

Keep up to date with all of the off-season news and signings via the SBL website www.sbl.asn.au.

Photo by Serene Maisey


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.