President's Message to SABC Members

Dear Members,

I'd like to start this President's message with a quick introduction, my name is Rod Kiddy and I'm the new President of South Adelaide Basketball Club (SABC). I'm a parent at the club. I have two children who play at South in U16 and U18. My kids have played at South for about five years. I have played basketball since I was about ten years old and still play socially today. I love the game and want to see it grow. I have previous committee experience with other community based sporting clubs.

These changes occurred at the club’s Annual General Meeting (AGM) on Sunday 29th October. Few days prior to the meeting, President David Frick advised the Committee that he wasn’t able to continue in the role due to growing work commitments. David has just secured a new senior role with one of Australia’s biggest companies. On behalf of the club we would like to thank David for his outstanding contribution to the club. David has also offered to continue to support the club anyway he can, which is greatly appreciated.

It was so pleasing to see so many members at the AGM, which shows our members, are passionate about our basketball club. I am also happy to announce that nine of the 12 committee members will be continuing on the committee, which is fantastic and gives the club real stability going forward. The other changes were the retirement of committee members Meredith Couchman and Callum Deacon, who have both done a fantastic job. Meredith is going continue working on some subcommittees.  Other new members on the committee are Scott McCudden and Dean Hoffmann, welcome aboard guys.

My other take away from the AGM is that the club is in a great position. Sound financials and record memberships, thanks to the efforts of the whole 2016/17 committee.

The committee for 2017/18 is as follows:

President - Rod Kiddy

Vice President - Zoran Pajkovski

Secretary - Tricia Kleinig

Treasurer - Greg Cunningham

Junior Program Manager - Jason Balfour

Senior Program Manager - Nicholas Wooden

General Committee – Jeremy Cotterill, Josh Kelly, Ingrid Clough, Andrew Griffin, Scott McCudden, Dean Hoffmann.

Our priorities for the coming year are

  • Continue to build on the great foundations built over previous years;
  • Improve facilities for both players and spectators. New stadium is what we all need and want. Marion Council have earmarked $10m for a new stadium at Mitchell Park, but the overall project needs another $10m of either the State or Federal Governments money. In the meantime, we need to ensure that “The Shed” still needs to be maintained, main focus areas here are the playing floors and the car park;
  • Continue to grow participation in basketball at all levels at South; and
  • Improve on court performances for both senior and junior teams.

Please feel free to contact me on the following email address:

Yours in Basketball

Rod Kiddy

SABC President


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.