A medal has been presented to the best and fairest player in the State League since 1927.

The DeLittle Medal was inaugurated in 1927 and awarded until the end of World War 2.

In 1946, the name was changed to the Grogan Medal, named in honour of longtime administrator JA Grogan, who played a leading role in Australian Rules football growth from the mid-1920s.

Votes in the Grogan Medal have always been cast by umpires on a 3-2-1 basis.

Only two men have won the best player in Queensland award on three occasions.

Inaugural Grogan Medallist Doug Pittard collected two Grogans and one DeLittle Medal, while Windsor champion Jim Davies won the DeLittle Medal three times in five years.


2008: Nathan Kinch (Morningside)
2007 Todd Featherstone (Labrador)
2006: Matthew Payne (Zillmere)
2005: David Round (Broadbeach)
2004: Mick Stinear (Mt Gravatt)
2003: Jacob Gough (Morningside)
2002: David Round (Southport)
2001: Paul O'Brien (Redland)
2000: Danny Dickfos (Northern Eagles)
1999: David Bain(Southport)
Brad Jones (Mt Gravatt)
1998: Dean Edwards (Morningside)
1997: Jeff Brennan (Southport)
1996: Corey Lambert (West Brisbane)
1995: David Bain (Southport)
1994: Mitchell Howe (Morningside)
1993: Jason Cotter (Southport)
Dean Warren (Kedron Grange)
Daryl Bourke (Morningside)
1992: Rick Chapman (Morningside)
David Crutchfield (Southport)
Chris O'Sullivan (Southport)
1991: Cameron Buchanan (North Brisbane)
1990: Jason Cotter (Southport)
1989: Daryl Bourke (Morningside)
1988: Craig Brittain (Windsor-Zillmere)
1987: Terry Simmonds (Mayne)
1986: Brendan McMullen (Coorparoo)
Greg Packham (Kedron)
1985: Zane Taylor (Southport)
1984: Brendan McMullen (Coorparoo)
1983: Peter Guy (Southport)
Bill Pierce (Sherwood)
1982: John Blair (Morningside)
1981: Greg Hollick (Mayne)
1980: Barry Karklis (Windsor-Zillmere)
1979: Don Smith (Sandgate)
1978: Peter Ives (Mayne)
1977: Peter Taylor (Western Districts)
1976: Barry Clarke (Wilston-Grange)
1975: Owen Backwell (Western Districts)
1974: Jeff Ebert (Morningside)
1973: Don Smith (Sandgate)
1972: Barry Clarke (Wilston-Grange)
1971: Owen Backwell (Western Districts)
1970: Kelvin Mills (Kedron)
1969: Terry Johston (Morningside)
Ken Garcia (Wilston-Grange)
Terry Weller (Windsor-Zillmere)
1968: Merv Appleyard (Wilston-Grange)
1967: Robin Hull (Windsor-Zillmere)
1966: Gary Wah Hing (Kedron)
1965: Tom Gould (Kedron)
1964: Ken Grimley (Coorparoo)
1963: Tom Gould (Kedron)
1962: Keith Leach (Wilston-Grange)
1961: Keith Leach (Wilston-Grange)
1960: Merv Dihm (Morningside)
Jim Conlan (Wilston-Grange)
1959: John Golding (Coorparoo)
1958: Andy Stewart (Western Districts)
1957: Keith Farnsworth (Morningside)
1956: Tom Pelly (Western Districts)
1955: Henry Maguire (Morningside)
1954: Noel McGuinness (Morningside)
1953: Noel McGuinness (Morningside)
1952: Bevis Howell (Coorparoo)
1951: Bill Shorten (Yeronga)
1950: Tom Calder (Coorparoo)
Edgar Stevens (Sandgate)
1949: Dick Parton (Windsor)
1948: Tom Calder (Coorparoo)
1947: Doug Pittard (Western Districts)
Fred Willets (Yeronga)
1946: Doug Pittard (Western Districts)
1945: L Anders (Workshops)
1944: No award
1943: No award
1942: No award
1941: T Neilsen (Past State Commercial High School)
1940: Doug Pittard (Taringa)
1939: Pat Vidgen (Taringa)
1938: Jim Davies (Windsor)
1937: Col Stream (Windsor)
1935: Jim Davies (Windor)
1934: Jim Davies (Windsor)
1930: H Green (Windsor)
1928: T Chand (South Brisbane)
1927: N Brown (Windsor)


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.