The National Basketball League has unveiled its All-NBL Teams at the 2011 iiNet MVP awards ceremony at Melbourne’s Crown Casino in Melbourne tonight, with New Zealand Breakers Kirk Penney and Gary Wilkinson, Sydney King Julian Khazzouh, Wollongong’s Gary Ervin and Perth’s Damian Martin all named to the All-NBL First Team.

Penney led all vote getters with 72 votes, while Ervin and Khazzouh were both just one ballot behind on 71.  Martin polled fourth and Wilkinson fifth on 55 and 53 votes respectively.

The All-NBL Second Team consisted of Ira Clark (Gold Coast), Adam Gibson (Gold Coast), Luke Schenscher (Townsville), Corey Williams (Melbourne), Glen Saville (Wollongong).

The All-NBL Third Team was named as Peter Crawford (Townsville), Ayinde Ubaka (Cairns), Shawn Redhage (Perth), Adam Ballinger (Adelaide) and Alex Loughton (Cairns)

After returning from Europe to join the resurgent Sydney Kings, Khazzouh quickly established himself as the NBL’s most dominant big man.  He has averaged 17.4 points per game, which is fourth in the NBL, as well as leading the league in rebounds with 10.0 per outing.  He also ranks second in the NBL in blocks at 1.8 per game and shot the ball at 52.7% from the field. 

New Zealand’s Penney showed just why he has attracted NBA interest with another standout season in the NBL.  He has averaged an equal league leading 20.1 points per game for the Breakers, helping lead them to their best-ever record. From beyond the perimeter he shot at 43.6%, which was amongst the best in the league.

Wollongong’s Ervin is undoubtedly one of the most exciting new imports to have joined the iiNet NBL Championship in recent seasons and made an immediate impact for the Hawks.  Ervin was amongst the NBL’s scoring leaders all season and finished equal first in scoring at 20.1 points per game.  He also averaged 4.5 assists, which was fourth in the NBL. 

In his first full season in the NBL, New Zealand’s Wilkinson showed himself to be one of the most versatile big men in the league.  Wilkinson averaged 16.1 points per game for the Breakers and 5.3 rebounds this season.  He also shot the ball at an impressive 54.9% from the field.

 Having already won the award as the NBL’s best defensive player earlier this evening, Perth’s Martin showed he could play both ends of the floor.  He averaged 8.8 points, 5.6 rebounds and 2.9 assists for the season.  He also led the NBL in steals and in Round 22 took out the Player of the Week award after coming close to a rare quadruple double.


The head coach, one assistant coach and one captain from each team vote on the award.  Voting takes into account regular season performances only and voters cannot include members of their own team on the ballot. Each All-NBL team submitted by the voters must feature three outside players and two inside players. 

All-NBL First Team
Kirk Penney (New Zealand) - 72 votes
Gary Ervin (Wollongong) - 72
Julian Khazzouh (Sydney) - 71
Damian Martin (Perth) - 55
Gary Wilkinson (New Zealand) - 52

All-NBL Second Team
Ira Clark (Gold Coast) - 48
Adam Gibson (Gold Coast) - 42
Luke Schenscher (Townsville) - 42
Corey Williams (Melbourne) - 41
Glen Saville (Wollongong) - 35

All-NBL Third Team
Peter Crawford (Townsville) - 32
Ayinde Ubaka (Cairns) - 31
Shawn Redhage (Perth) - 26
Adam Ballinger (Adelaide) - 20
Alex Loughton (Cairns) - 20


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.