The Australian Rollers have named a team to tour Great Britain for the 2016 Continental Clash from July 2-5, a tournament that will serve as the final selection process for Rio.

The list of 14 players have been reduced following a camp at Basketball Australia’s Centre of Excellence and the Rollers will fly to Great Britain on June 27 to compete against Japan, USA, Great Britain, Netherlands and 2012 gold medallists Canada.

Five NWBL teams are represented in the squad, with the RSL Queensland Spinning Bullets perhaps proving how unlucky they were to miss out on finals with the most selections (four) of any team.

The Kilsyth Cobras, Wollongong Roller Hawks and Red Dust Heelers all have three representatives while Shaun Norris from the Perth Wheelcats rounds out the team.

Before they reunite as team mates, Norris will go head-to-head with Josh Allison, Tristan Knowles and Shawn Russell this weekend in the NWBL Semi-Final while Wollongong’s Michael Auprince, Brett Stibners and Sam White will clash with Red Dust’s Brad Ness, Jannik Blair and Adam Deans in the other Semi-Final.

Do not forget the final games on Sunday August 26 will be live-streamed via the Basketball Australia YouTube channel with the bronze medal game available here and the gold medal game available here.


The Australian Rollers team for the 2016 Continental Clash in Leicester, Great Britain:

Josh Allison                       Kilsyth Cobras | VIS

Michael Auprince             Wollongong Rollerhawks | NSWIS

Jannik Blair                       Red Dust Heelers | VIS

Adam Deans                      Red Dust Heelers | WAIS

Tristan Knowles               Kilsyth Cobras | VIS

Bill Latham                        Queensland Spinning Bullets | QAS

Matt McShane                  Queensland Spinning Bullets | QAS

Brad Ness                           Red Dust Heelers | WAIS

Shaun Norris                     Perth Wheelcats | WAIS

Tom O’Neill-Thorne        Queensland Spinning Bullets | QAS

Shawn Russell                   Kilsyth Cobras | VIS

Tige Simmons                    Queensland Spinning Bullets | QAS

Brett Stibners                    Wollongong Rollerhawks | NSWIS

Sam White                          Wollongong Rollerhawks | SASI

The full schedule for the Continental Clash can be found below (all times AEST):

Saturday July 2: Australia v Japan at 9:00pm
Sunday July 3: Australia v Great Britain at 4:45am
Sunday July 3: Australia v Netherlands at 9:00pm
Monday July 4: Australia v USA at 9:00pm
Tuesday July 5: Australia v Canada at 6:45pm


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.

National Teams

Club Links - Navbar

Choose a Club