Aussie Gliders 2013 Osaka Cup Champions

The Aussie Gliders have successfully defended their Osaka Cup title remaining undefeated for the tournament.

The Gliders, fielding a new look team began the tournament on Thursday with a win over Canada 60-55 in a match that saw all 12 players hit the floor. 

They backed up on Friday with a win over host nation Japan 50-43 with once again all players taking to the floor and representing Australia with pride.

The third and final day of the event saw the girls take back to back wins defeating Canada 59-46 and Japan 54-48.

The successful tour was capped off when captain Shelley Chaplinwas awarded tournament MVP.

Since 2007, the Gliders have won the Osaka Cup five times in 2008, 2009, 2010, 2012 and 2013 while they have been runners-up in 2007 and 2011.


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.

National Teams

Club Links - Navbar

Choose a Club