History in the Making

In an action packed 2012 NWBL Finals weekend, the Wollongong Roller Hawks fought to defend their Championship Title and arose victorious, winning the NWBL Championship Title for 2012.


Heading into the 2012 NWBL Finals Series were the top 4 teams, The Wollongong Roller Hawks, The Be Active Perth Wheelcats, Victoria Dandenong Rangers and the Sydney Uni WheelKings.


“It’s amazing to win the NWBL Championships Title again and defending our title is a great achievement.” Our team worked incredibly hard throughout the season and performed at our best during the Finals game, which was great. Our strong defense was maintained throughout and we followed through by consistently scoring points on the back of it.”


“The Perth Wheelcats were in top form and played a strong game. Playing against such a formidable opposition makes us even more proud to have won the Championship Title back to back. We will celebrate this win and then get to work on making it 3 in a row next year.” Brendon Dowler, Coach of the Year and Coach of the Wollongong Roller Hawks.



The first semi final was deemed the “The 2011 Rematch” between contenders Wollongong Roller Hawks and The Be Active Perth Wheelcats. Wheelcats lost in one of the most action packed games of the season. The Wheelcats dominated throughout most of the game, however the MVP of the Season, Brett Stibners from the Roller Hawks had other things to say by contributing 27 points to the host’s total. The Roller Hawks won 71-62, directly earning their place in the Grand Final.


Game two starred the Victoria Dandenong Rangers and the Sydney Uni WheelKings. The Rangers charged hard and early in the game, coming to a 15 point lead and combined with strong defense, ensured that the WheelKings couldn’t close the gap at half time. CJ Grogan was impressive as the lead scorer for the WheelKings with 27 points, his momentum was difficult to beat, however Dandenong stayed in the lead and defeated the WheelKings 65-50.


For Saturday’s preliminary final, the Rangers earned the right to play the Wheelcats. The stakes were high as the winner of this match would continue to the Grand Final to play against the hosts, the Wollongong Roller Hawks.


The Be Active Perth Wheelcats fought hard during their second chance to make the Grand Final game. The outcome was uncertain as the Rangers again charged early and led 14 -13 at first break. The Wheelcats began chanting “defense” and by half time went into the offensive, delivering a 20 point lead. By the end of the game, the Rangers had no response to the overwhelming opposition and were defeated 74-55.


The Bronze Medal match was a cliffhanger between Sydney Uni WheelKings and Victoria Dandenong Rangers. Rangers again delivered a classic Rangers move by charging hard and early by leading 17-7 in the first quarter. WheelKings responded by going point for point in the second quarter, with Craig Cannane, the newly awarded NWBL Life member leading the WheelKings scoreboard for the game. The second half was tense as the WheelKings valiantly fought to close the gap with CJ Grogan and Kylie Gauci providing formidable points. The Bronze match finished on nail biting penalties and the Rangers were defeated 55-51.


The Grand Final was in front of a capacity crowd and the Wollongong Roller Hawks won back to back NWBL championships for the first time in their club’s history. The first change was tight with Roller Hawks up by 4 points. The second was just as close and looked like the first half would close with Roller Hawks up by 6 points when Luke Pople scored from near halfway and gave a nine point lead to the defending Champions. The Wheelcats continued to battle, however the Roller Hawks’ teamwork was unbeatable, especially the Stibners-Russell combination. Perth Captain Shaun Norris added 25 points to the scoreboard, but couldn’t overtake Roller Hawks Brett Stibners on 27 points. Stibners had a fantastic season and achieved a trifecta of NWBL awards, the NWBL High Point MVP, the Finals MVP and the Season MVP. Shawn Russell led the scoreboard with 29 points and the Wollongong Roller Hawks won the championship title at 79-59.


The NWBL Executive would very much like to thank our sponsors for their support during 2012. Special thanks to the Shellharbour City Council and Kellie Marsh, Lord Mayor of Shellharbour, for providing the NWBL Finals venue.


“Congratulations to all the teams for a brilliant season” said Esme Bowen, Director of Australian Athletes With a Disability. “Special thanks to all the players, coaches, officials and volunteers who make the NWBL possible. It has been a marvellous finish to a great season and we’re looking forward to an amazing 2012 season.”


If you missed all the action on the weekend, stay tuned, for the 2012 NWBL Finals will be televised on Aurora Community Channel. Catch the Championship Game in detailed action airing from this weekend through to August. The broadcast negotiated by Aurora with Australian Athletes With a Disability has been made possible by Australian Athletes With a Disability, Aurora Community Channel and Lacework Productions.



2012 NWBL Finals Results


Semi Final

Wollongong Roller Hawks



The Be Active Perth Wheelcats


Semi Final

Victoria Dandenong Rangers



Sydney Uni WheelKings


Preliminary Final

The Be Active Perth Wheelcats



Victoria Dandenong Rangers


Bronze Medal

Sydney Uni WheelKings



Victoria Dandenong Rangers


Gold Medal

Wollongong Roller Hawks



The Be Active Perth Wheelcats




2012 NWBL Awards


2012 NWBL Champions

Wollongong Roller Hawks

2012 NWBL 2nd Place

The Be Active Perth Wheelcats

2012 NWBL 3rd Place

Sydney Uni WheelKings

2012 NWBL Coach of the Year

Brendon Dowler – Wollongong Roller Hawks

2012 NWBL Season Top Scorer

Brett Stibners - Wollongong Roller Hawks

2012 NWBL MVP Low Point & All Star Five

Jannik Blair – Victoria Dandenong Rangers

2012 NWBL MVP Mid Point & All Star Five

Shaun Norris – The Be Active Perth Wheelcats

2012 NWBL MVP High Point & All Star Five

Brett Stibners – Wollongong Roller Hawks

2012 NWBL All Star Five

Tige Simmons – RSL Queensland Spinning Bullets

2012 NWBL All Star Five

Adam Deans – The Be Active Perth Wheelcats

2012 NWBL MVP of the Season

Brett Stibners – Wollongong Roller Hawks

2012 NWBL MVP of the Final Series

Brett Stibners – Wollongong Roller Hawks

2012 NWBL Life Membership

Craig Cannane – Sydney Uni WheelKings




2012 NWBL Finals TV Coverage

Aurora Community Channel Screening Schedule





Saturday 23rd               1:00 pm

Monday 25th                11:30 am

Wednesday 27th                       10:30 pm

Thursday 28th              3:00 pm




Saturday 7th                 8:30 pm

Wednesday 11th           4:00 pm

Tuesday 17th                10:30 pm




Screening times to be announced




International Day of People With Disability – Celebrating 20 years

Screening times to be announced


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.

National Teams

Club Links - Navbar

Choose a Club