BASKETBALL Victoria is pleased to announce the first set of Victorian State Team Staff  – the Under-20 and Ivor Burge teams – for the 2019 Australian Junior Championships.

This year’s batch of coaches, staff members and players will seek to emulate and improve upon an exceptional 2018 at the Australian Junior Championships. In 2018 our sides picked up eight out of the nine national championships as well as two silver medals and two bronze  medals.

We will announce the Victorian State Coaches for 2019 over the next three days:

  • Under-20 and Ivor Burge teams (Monday)
  • Under-18 and Kevin Coombs Cup teams (Tuesday)
  • Under-16 teams (Wednesday)

Basketball Victoria’s Basketball Operations Manager Grant Wallace said this year’s pool of applicants was the strongest yet, further cementing Victorian junior basketball’s status on the national stage.

“This year’s Victorian State Team Staff shows the strength of our sport throughout Victoria,” Wallace said. “Our coaches have NBL and WNBL head coaching experience as well as currently serving as Australian junior head coaches and assistant coaches.

“It makes for an incredible pool of coaches to pick from and we’d like to thank all the applicants.

“The level of high calibre coaches and staff members ensure the 2019 coaching and staff ranks remain at an elite level.”

There are four new head coaches joining the ranks in 2019 as we bid farewell and thank Katrina Hibbert, Gerard Hillier, Glen Jordan and Sam Thornton.

All four coaches have won national championships in their time with Basketball Victoria and have been incredibly successful head coaches within the Victorian High Performance program.

Hibbert and Jordan brought gold back from Gosford at the 2018 Australian Under-20 and Ivor Burge Championships, Thornton’s time as Victoria Metro’s Under-16 Women’s coach concluded with an exceptional three-peat in Kilsyth, Stirling and Maroochydore while Hillier’s 2017 Victoria Country Under-18 Women team brought home gold in Townsville – breaking an 18-year championship drought for our Country girls as well as bringing home bronze from this year’s championships.

“There are four new additions amongst the head coaching ranks and numerous other changes throughout the entirety of our program,” Wallace said. “In particular we’d like to thank Katrina Hibbert, Sam Thornton, Gerard Hillier and Glen Jordan for their time as head coaches within Victoria’s High Performance program.

“They have been brilliant members of our state team staff and ensured Victoria remained on top of the nation, both with their results at championships as well as setting professional standards for these sides in preparation for these events.”

We thank them for their contributions to Basketball Victoria and helping hone and develop the next generation of elite Victorian players.




Heading to Canberra in February, the Victorian Under-20 and Ivor Burge staff include international-calibre coaches and an array of familiar and new faces to the ranks.

Coaching staff U20 Women lowres

Dee Butler joins our head coaching staff in 2019 and brings a wealth of experience. Her resume as a player and a coach is impeccable and will drive our Under-20 Women to even greater heights. As current Australian Under-19 head coach, Butler knows where the international standard sits and will drive our Victorian players to reach those levels

The Under-20 Women’s coaching roster features four impressive female coaches with Butler joined by returning assistant coach Hannah Lowe and ex-WNBL player Kerryn Mitchell and former under-16 head coach Sam Thornton as a development coach and selector.

Coaching staff IB Men lowres

Ryan Holloway joins the Ivor Burge Men’s team for his first head coaching appointment within the Victorian High Performance basketball program. He brings to the program international experience as a current head coach of the Australian Dingoes U21 deaf basketball team, Australian Boomerangs assistant coach and a former Ivor Burge Metro Men’s assistant coach.

Coaching staff U20 Men lowres

Chris Anstey returns as Victorian Under-20 Men’s head coach following a successful campaign in 2018 as will Simon Robinson as Victoria’s Ivor Burge Women’s head coach.

Coaching staff IB Women lowres

“International stars like Dee Butler and Chris Anstey applying for these roles highlight just how coveted a Victorian coaching position remains within Australian basketball,” Basketball Victoria’s Basketball Operations Manager Grant Wallace said. “Whether as players or coaches, both Butler and Anstey have excelled across the globe and will give our players the insights and tutelage necessary to impress at the championships and beyond as they look towards college, NBL, WNBL and other impressive elite achievements.

“Ryan Holloway and Simon Robinson are exceptional candidates for our Ivor Burge teams and we look forward to seeing them continue our exceptional performances at recent championships.”



Head Coach: Dee Butler (Diamond Valley)

Assistant Coach: Hannah Lowe (Nunawading)

Assistant Coach: Kerryn Mitchell (Frankston)

Team Manager: Fiona Mortimer (Kilsyth)

Development Coach / Selector: Sam Thornton (Bulleen)

Mentor: Mike McHugh (Inverloch)

Physio: Bounce Health Group



Head Coach: Chris Anstey (Dandenong)

Assistant Coach: Dion Jewell (Werribee)

Assistant Coach: Shane McDonald (Nunawading)

Team Manager: Shelley Reynolds (Diamond Valley)

Development Coach / Selector: Matt Nunn (Sandringham)

Mentor: Ben Harvey (Bendigo)

Physio: Bounce Health Group



Head Coach: Simon Robinson (Collingwood)

Assistant Coach: Maddison Borg (Collingwood)

Assistant Coach: Justin May (Hawthorn)

Team Manager: Kerryn O’Donnell (Kilsyth)

Mentor: Mike Czepil (Basketball Victoria)

Physio: Bounce Health Group



Head Coach: Ryan Holloway (Warrandyte)

Assistant Coach: Jeff Shute (Eltham)

Assistant Coach: Kenneth Brunner (Mornington)

Team Manager: TBA

Mentor: Julia Walsh (Bulleen)

Physio: Bounce Health Group


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.

Big V Tryouts-Senior Men Register HERE

Big V Tryouts-Youth Men Register HERE

Big V Open Sessions-Senior Women Register HERE

Big V Tryouts-Youth Women Register HERE

Redbacks Summer 1819 Waiting List - Join HERE

WBA Contact

Uniform Shop Hours - TERM 4 2018 


Friday 9/11 4.30pm - 5.15pm 

Thursday 15/11  6.45pm - 7.15pm 

Friday 16/11  4.45pm - 5.15pm 



Uniform Shop is closed School Holidays


Venom Clash tops can be returned to administration during office hours


36-38 Drysdale Road, Warrandyte VIC 3113

Office Hours (As at February 2018):

Monday 10.00am - 4.00pm

Tuesday - 10.00am - 4.00pm

Wednesday - 10.00am - 4.00pm

Thursday - 10.00am - 4.00pm

Friday - 10.00am - 6.00pm 

Contact: David Lawson (Administrator)


WBA Sponsors

Photo Gallery

Basketball Australia News

Basketball Victoria News