2018 McDonald's Brisbane Juniors Gala Awards Night

Photo courtesy of Highflyer Images



Over 300 players, parents and volunteers gathered at Kedron Wavell Services Club on Monday night to celebrate the 2018 AFL Brisbane Juniors Gala Awards Night. 

The night's top honour, the O'Callaghan Medal, was awarded to Maryshae Green from Moggill. Playing in the Under 13  Division 3 girl's competition she polled the most votes in any division with 32 votes. Marshae is the second female to be awarded the top honour, after Ashlee Sciortino from Forest Lakes Dragons received the medal in 2016.

The 2018 EXIMM Junior Club Person was awarded  to Charlie Selth from Wests Juniors. At just 15 years of age, Charlie's active involvement across all aspects of his club is outstanding. His roles have included; welcoming new club members, coaching the Wests Juniors Roy's Junior Footy team, junior umpiring, running water and generally being available for any job that needs to be done.  

In 2018 AFL Brisbane Juniors increased to 6,953 players, across 433 teams and 48 competitions.

Winners gallery can be found here.  

2018 McDonald's AFL Brisbane Juniors Gala Award Winners

Club Championship
The Club Championship Shield is awarded to the club whose teams win the greatest percentage of gamed for the season (Youth Football Games only)

2018 Winner: Kedron

2018 Medal Winners
Awarded to the player/s who receives the most votes from the umpires during the Home & Away season, by age group.

Under 12 Division 1- Baxter Ellis, Morningside  

Under 12 Division 2- Maxwell Brock, Wilston Grange                            

Under 12 Division 3 - Sheldon Bedford-Parsons, ​ Ferny Grove                                  

Under 12 Division 4- Aidan Brennan, ​Kenmore                                        

Under 12 Division 5- Owen Maguire, Jimboomba                                   

Under 13 Girls Division 1- Bonita Norman, ​Mt Gravatt                                      

Under 13 Girls Division 2- Teagan Dare, Jimboomba                                  

Under 13 Girls Division 3  - Maryshae Green, Moggill                                           

Under 14 Division 1- Thomas Clark-Boyce, Wilston Grange                             

Under 14 Division 2- Anastasios Kotatis, Moreton Bay and Kaleb Nolan, Park Ridge                                     
Under 14 Division 3 - Matthew Williams, Kedron                                           

Under 14 Division 4- Jack Kalan, Mt Gravatt                                     

Under 14 Division 5- Ashwyn Smith, Moggill                                            

Under 15 Girls Division 1- Lucia Liessi, Aspley                                             

Under 15 Girls Division 2- Jordan Fannin, Calamvale                                       

Under 16 Division 1- Ky McKenzie, Aspley                                             

Under 16 Division 2- Regan Simmons, Calamvale                                       

Under 16 Division 3 - Kyle McClure, Springwood                                 

Under 16 Division 4- Delsen Jones, Ferny Grove/Aspley                     

Under 17 Girls Division 1- Bella Smith, Narangba                                        

Under 17 Girls Division 2- Zimmorlei Farquharson, Calamvale                                     

George Turnbull Medal
The George Turnbull Medal is awarded to the player/s who receive the second highest number of votes from the umpires during the Home & Away season, regardless of the age group.                                     

2018 Winners: Jack Kalan, Mt Gravatt and Bella Smith, Narangba (29 votes)                                        

O’Callaghan Medal      
The O'Callaghan Medal is awarded to the player who receives the most votes from the umpires during the Home & Away season, regardless of the age group.                              

2018 Winner: Maryshae Green, Moggill (32 votes)                                          

Volunteers of the Year
Each club, league or association is invited to nominate an outstanding volunteer as an AFL Volunteer of the Year. The volunteer may have contributed to the completion of a major or significant project throughout the year or they may be someone who has contributed in a number of roles over a long period

Club Volunteer- Denyale Juffs-King, Redcliffe                                         

Club Administrator- Evan Marshall, Carindale                                      

Junior Coach- Dan Jaillet, Alexandra Hills                              

Youth Coach-  Rob Wilson, Alexandra Hills                              

EXIMM Junior Club Person-Charlie Selth, Wests Juniors                               

2018 Partner                                               


2018 Charity Partner                                 

Ronald McDonald House South East Queensland

The Gala Awards was also live streamed and has been uploaded, to view please click here.


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.

AFL Queensland Brisbane Juniors Partners

Brisbane Lions News


Club Links