Halls Medal


The first Halls Medal was awarded in 1964. Prior to that, Woollacott Medals were awarded.


As the women wanted a separate medal acknowledging women's basketball, a sponsor was sought. Halls, manufacturers of soft drinks agreed to sponsor the award. Henceforth, the Halls Medal was awarded to winners of the Best and Fairest player in the District Women's competition.

Like the Woollacott Medal, it was upgraded to the Fairest and most Brilliant player in the early 1970s.

In 1999 for the first time the medal was awarded to the ABA central Conference's Most Valuable Player. The votes are caste by referees post-game on a 3, 2, 1 basis. In 1981 and 1996, the competition experimented with coaches voting, before reverting to the original format.

Following is a list of past winners.

Year Winner Club
1956 S. Zeuner Payneham
1957 Shirley Poynter Payneham
1958 Maria Kelertas  
1959 Maria Kelertas  
1960 C. Winning North Adelaide
1961 B. Kersley Torrens
1962 Pat Rowe North Adelaide
1963 Bronte Russell North Adelaide
1964 Eril Drennan Vikings
1965 J. Brown West Torrens
1966 Magdalena Nagy (m Odgaard) Budapest
1967 Jackie Aston West Adelaide
1968 Mara Asenkamps Norwood
1969 Noelene Lowe North Adelaide
1970 Lynette Moss (m Parnell) United Church
1971 Sylvia White North Adelaide
1972 Ann Misiewicz Glenelg
1973 Ilze Blicavs (m Nagy) Sturt
1974 Jenny Cheesman Glenelg
1975 Heather Flynn (nee Parnell m Mickan) Glenelg
1976 Sue Harcus West Torrens
1977 Jenny Cheesman Glenelg
1978 Jenny Cheesman Glenelg
1979 Jill Hammond North Adelaide
1980 Sue Harcus West Torrens
1981 Jan Stirling (nee Graham) Forestville
1982 Jan Stirling (nee Graham) North Adelaide
1983 Kay Todd (m Flynn) Noarlunga City
1984 Ilze Nagy (nee Blicavs) Sturt
1985 Kathy Foster (nee Davey) North Adelaide
1986 Carol Andrews South Adelaide
1987 Cass Pujals (nee Dalton) West Adelaide
1988 Cass Pujals (nee Dalton) West Adelaide
1989 Rachael Sporn West Adelaide
1990 Donna Brown North Adelaide
1991 Sue Collins (m Russo) Noarlunga City
1992 Vicki Daldy (m Valk) Norwood
1993 Rachael Sporn West Adelaide
1994 Jo Hill North Adelaide
1995 Natasha O'Brien Norwood
1996 Michelle Weir (m Tucker) Forestville
1997 Terri-Jo Draper (m McNamara) Sturt
1998 Sharon Simons Forestville
1999 Vikki Kelson Adelaide Southern
1999 Narella Lindsay (m van Leuven) Noarlunga City
1999 Kristen Veal Norwood
2000 Vikki Kelson Adelaide Southern
2001 Vikki Kelson Adelaide Southern
2002 Suzy Batkovic West Adelaide
2002 Jess Mahony Sturt
2003 Deanna Smith South Adelaide
2004 Deanna Smith South Adelaide
2005 Vikki Kelson South Adelaide
2006 Sam Woosnam West Adelaide
2007 Angela Marino Sturt
2008 Cayla Francis Eastern
2009 Kerrin Webber South Adelaide
2010 Tess Madgen Eastern
2011 Jess Foley Norwood
2012 Jess Mahony Central Districts


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.