AFL Cairns U17 Final Team & Emergencies

Earlier this season, AFL Cairns travelled to Victoria in April to play against Riddle District Football League and Ballarat Football League in the Victorian Challenge. AFL Cairns were able to come away with two solid victories against quality opposition.

FULL-TIME: Riddell District FL 5.6-36 def. by Bendigo Bank Cairns Lions U17's 13.8-86

FULL-TIME: Ballarat FL 3.4-22 def. by Bendigo Bank Cairns Lions U17's 7.11-53

The relationship between AFL Cairns and AFL Goldfields has been developed over several years and AFL Goldfields will again travel to FNQ to play AFL Cairns, followed by a match against a combined AFL Townsville/Mackay team.

The Bendigo Bank Cairns Lions will be confident after their earlier victories in 2015. AFL Cairns will be aiming for their first victory on home soil after being defeated in 2014 by 48 points: Cairns Lions 8.6-54 def. by AFL Goldfields 15.12-102.

The Final team selection will be determined by the players availability, previous U17 Melbourne Squad Selections, 2014/2015 Cairns Talent Program and weekly performances as viewed by AFLC, AFLQ and Gold Coast Academy Staff.

Match Details:

AFL Cairns vs. AFL Goldfields
Sunday, 28th June 2015
Cazalys Stadium 3:00pm

Congratulations to the following players for making the Final team (including emergencies)

1.       Angus O’Sughrue (C) (Centrals TB)
2.       Jack Dickson (C) (Port Douglas)
3.       Jonathon Peeters (South Cairns)
4.       Heath Molloy (North Cairns)
5.       Oliver Koch (Cairns City Lions)
6.       Christopher Lee (North Cairns)
7.       Elia Ware (North Cairns)
8.       Michael Morrey (Cairns City Lions)
9.       Angus Dickson (Port Douglas)
10.   Kanjia Kamara (Cairns Saint)
11.   Ethan McCullough (Port Douglas)
12.   Shawn Watson (Cairns Saint)
13.   Max Culpitt (Centrals TB)
14.   Bradwell Dick (Pyramid Power)
15.   Jack West (Manunda Hawks)
16.   Richard Barba (Pyramid Power)
17.   Joey Kura (AFLCY Eagles)
18.   Damien Burke (AFLCY Eagles)
19.   Lachlan McDonald (Cairns Saints)
20.   Ezra Charlie (AFLCY Eagles)
21.   Sam Brayshaw (South Cairns)
22.   Joel Ashby (Manunda Hawks)
23.   Lachlan Smith (Cairns City Lions)
24.   Nathan Evans (Port Douglas)
25. Glendon Woosup (AFLCY Eagles)


Emergencies are:

  1. 1.       Danny Floyd (Pyramid Power)
  2. 2.       Charlie Harris (Cairns City Lions)
  3. 3.       Niall Gee (Manunda Hawks)


Coaching Officials:

Cameron Campbell (Head Coach)

Luke Webb (Assistant Coach)

Brad Campbell (Assistant Coach)

Debbie Podolczak (Trainer)


U16 Queensland State Players were unavailable for selection due to the upcoming National Championships.

We wish all players the best of luck for Sunday’s match.

AFL Cairns – it’s a great game!



Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.