Tasmania rules at Masters

TASMANIA'S superrules side has won the Masters Australian football national title on percentage after thrashing Queensland in Adelaide on Saturday. The Tasmanians won by 69 points and then had to sit back to see if Victoria Metro could defeat favourite South Australia.

Vic Metro got up by 14 points to hand Tasmania the title. Tasmania had three players selected in the All-Australian team in Shane McCoy, Andrew Hogan and Kyle Wilson, who was also named All-Australian coach. The masters (40 to 45-year-olds) held Western Australian goalless in their 43-point win. The seniors (45-50) defeated the Northern Territory by 58 points and the super seniors (50-plus) won a three-point thriller over Western Australia. Brian Brett, Hayden Nicholls (masters), Greg Gordon, Don Dykes (seniors), Peter Parsons and Bruce Coles (super seniors) were selected for all-Australian teams.


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.