Ellis coaches 2008 TAC Cup Team of the Year

By Travis Parnaby

A humble and shocked Mark Ellis has been elected the leader of the TAC Cup's best 22 players for season 2008.

Ellis was announced as the TAC Cup Coach of the Year at the recent 2008 Morrish Medal count at Moonee Valley.

The team boasts a stellar stable of talent and Ellis was chuffed to be acknowledged.

“It could have gone to any one of the coaches and I think with all the coaches in the competition, we are all in it for the same reason," a modest Ellis said.

“It’s a tremendous honour to be involved in this program, especially with the amount of work that the boys and their parents put in.

Ellis praised his support staff, including Pioneers region manager Ray Byrne.

“The (TAC Cup) program is very worthwhile," hesaid.

“It’s very enjoyable. I certainly get a lot off support from a lot of people so thanks very much.”

The 2008 TAC Cup Team of the Year is split between 12 metropolitan and 10 country players and all 12 clubs have been represented.

It includes 2008 Morrish Medallist Jarryd Blair as rover, Morrish Medal runner-up Andrew Hooper of North Ballarat Rebels in a back pocket and third-place and TAC Cup leading goal kicker Thomas Rockliff on a half-forward flank.

The Team of the Year features 19 new faces while returning to the fold for a second time are Michael Hurley, Mitchell Banner and Nick Suban.

2008 TAC Cup Team of the Year


Zach Sengstock

Tom Gillies

Andrew Hooper


Sandringham Dragons

Dandenong Stingrays

North Ballarat Rebels






Tom Simpkin

Michael Hurley

Kade Klemke


Geelong Falcons

Northern Knights

Murray Bushrangers






David Zaharakis

Mitchell Banner

Koby Stevens


Northern Knights

Western Jets

Gippsland Power






Rory Sloane

Jack Ziebell

Thomas Rockliff


Eastern Ranges

Murray Bushrangers

Murray Bushrangers






Xavier Gotch

Aaron Purves

Tyrone Vickery


Oakleigh Chargers

Dandenong Stingrays

Sandringham Dragons






Jordan Roughead

Luke Shuey

Jarryd Blair


North Ballarat Rebels

Oakleigh Chargers

Gippsland Power






Jordan Gysberts

Kallen Geary



Eastern Ranges

Bendigo Pioneers







Andy Duhau

Nick Suban



Calder Cannons

North Ballarat Rebels



Mark Ellis
Bendigo Pioneers


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.