Match 9: Vanuatu causes huge upset beating NZ 4-2

ADELAIDE, 2 June 2004: Vanuatu has caused a huge upset in beating New Zealand 4-2 in the final match of round three at Hindmarsh Stadium tonight.

Vanuatu led 1-0 at the break courtesy of a brilliant goal from midfield general Seimata Chillia.

The All Whites hit back with a goal to replacement striker Vaughan Coveny after the break. But Vanuatu stole the lead back through defender Lexa Bula Bibi who through the middle to follow through a Chillia pass.

Vanuatu extended the lead to 3-1 when Jean Maleb struck in the 72nd minute but Coveny kept his team in touch with his second goal not long after to make the score 3-2.

But rather than caving in under the pressure of the last quarter, Vanuatu hung on and were rewarded when Alphose Qorig scored the winner four minutes from the end. The 4-2 winning margin confirmed the result as a historic victory for the island nation over Oceania's second ranked nation.

2004 OFC Nations Cup/FIFA World Cup - Stage 2 Preliminary Competition
Adelaide, Australia 29 May - 6 June

Round 3: Match 9 - 2 June 2004, 8:00pm

New Zealand vs Vanuatu

Full-time score: 2-4 Vanuatu
Half-time score: 0-1 Vanuatu

NZ - (16) Vaughan Coveny 61',75
Van - (9) Seimata Chillia 37'; (4) Lexa Bule Bibi 64'; (17) Jean Maleb 72'; (16) Alphose Qorig 86

Cautions: NZ - (7) Ivan Vicelich 65'; (17) Raf De Gregorio 92+'
Van - (11) Moise Poida 2'; (2) Geoffrey Lego Gete 67'; (1) David Chilia 77'
Expulsions: none

Crowd Attendance: 400+
Weather: Fine
Venue: Hindmarsh Stadium, Adelaide

Match Officials:

Match Commissioner: Madiu Andrew (Papua New Guinea)
Referee Inspector: Hari Naicker (Fiji)

Referee: Stefano Farina (Italy)
Assistant Referee 1: Michael Mouauri (Cook Islands)
Assistant Referee 2: Claudio Puglisi (Italy)
Fourth Official: Charles Ariiotima (Tahiti)

Team Lists (& Substitutions)

1. Mark Paston GK
2. Duncan Oughton
5. Che Bunce
6. Tony Lochhead
7. Ivan Vicelich
8. Aaran Lines (-56')
11. Leo Bertos (-72')
13. Brent Fisher
14. Ryan Nelsen (c)
15. Michael Wilson (-52')
21. Rupesh Puna
4. Steven Old
9. Noah Hickey
10. Timothy Brown
12. Simon Elliot
16. Vaughan Coveny (+52')
17. Raffaele de Gregorio (+72')
18. Shane Smeltz (+56')
19. Neil Jones
20. Andrew Boyens
22. Glen Moss RGK
23. Tamati Williams

Coach: Mick Waitt

1. David Chilia (c) GK
2. Geoffrey Lego Lete (-81')
4. Lexa Bule Bibi
6. Graham Demas
7. Fedy Vava
9. Seimata Chilia
10. Etienne Mermer
11. Moise Poida (-84')
12. Lorry Thompsen
16. Alphose Qorig
17. Jean Emmanuel Maleb
21. Tom Manses
3. Manley Junior Tabe (+84')
5. Wilkins Simon Lauru
8. Joe Iautu Ture
13. Richard Iwai
14. Pita David Maki
15. Daniel Koko Alick
18. Maki Gerard Haitong
19. Roger Joe (+81')
20. Charly Kalsanei RGK

Coach: Juan Carlos Buzzetti


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.