Swan Damien Wendt, Bulldog Sam Naismith, Saint Peter Heath

In a very entertaining night, MC'ed by Mark Lowe, there was good crowd in attendance to view the vote count for the Tony Gillies Medal. The Tony Gillies Medal is the Best and Fairest award voted on by the umpires at the end of each game. It is named after Mr. Tony Gillies a great supporter of the Country Energy Tamworth AFL from its inception and a former Editor of the Northern Daily Leader.

At the end of the first five Rounds the Swans Captain, Damien Wendt, was in the lead by one vote over the Inverell Saints Michael Corley and just one vote further back were Peter Heath of the Saints and Lachlan Rowling of the Swans.

After a break for entree the count continued for rounds six to ten. At the end of round ten the leader board had the Saints Peter Heath on 9 votes, Damien Wendt and Lachlan Rowling of the Swans on 8 votes each and Sam Naismith from the Gunnedah Bulldogs and Matt Maxwell, Captain of the New England Nomads on 7 votes each.

We then had another break for our main meal after which we had the final five rounds of the vote count. At the end it was a three way dead heat between the Saints Peter Heath, Bulldog Sam Naismith and Swan Damien Wendt. But it was a very tight count this year as just one vote back on 9 votes were the Swans Lachlan Rowling, Kangaroo captain Tim Cotter, Saint Joe Kimmince and Nomad Captain Matt Maxwell. On 8 votes was Kangaroo Michael Filosi. This was the tightest vote count ever with just 2 vote's separating five players from the three winners.

Pictured here are our three winners from left to right Swan Captain Damien Wendt, Bulldog Sam Naismith and Saint Peter Heath.


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.

Notice Board

The Greater Bank is our major sponsor for the 2018 season. As major sponsor, they also have naming rights to this years competition.
The 2018 competition will be known as the "Greater Bank AFL North West Competition 2018". This must be noted in all media reporting especially local radio talk backs and all advertisements must include their logo.

Greater Bank AFLNW Competition 2018

Greater Bank AFLNW - Men's (2018)