SGB R1 Canterbury 28 Souths 22 (Report)

Bulldogs OLD

Canterbury prevented Souths from taking the Junior Reps clean sweep with a hard fought 28-22 victory in the opening round of the SG Ball competition at Erskineville Oval.

The Bulldogs started in great fashion with tries to Samisoni Langi and Jordan Hall in the opening 11 minutes to lead 12-0 with Josh Rainbow converting both tries.

Souths prop Matt Coltman scored wide out to bring the Rabbitohs back within a converted try after 18 minutes.

The Rabbitohs revival was short-lived with John Sila scoring the first of his three tries and a sideline conversion from Josh Rainbow pushed the Bulldogs lead out to 12 points.

Souths winger Patrice Siolo scored wide out five minutes before half-time to bring the score to 18-10 in the Bulldogs favour with it remaining that way until the half-time break.

The second half was a whole new ball game with the Rabbitohs taking advantage of the Bulldogs mistakes to score tries through fullback Tryrone Phillips and hooker Jackson Garlick to lead 22-18 heading into the final ten minutes.

Two tries in the space of four minutes from winger John Sila to make it a memorable day for him scoring three tries to put the Bulldogs clear at 28-22 with Josh Rainbow landing a magnificent conversion from the sideline when the scores were locked at 22-all.

The Bulldogs held on for the final four minutes to gain their first victorty of the season with prop David Klemmer the stand-out performer for Canterbury on the day.

Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs 28 (John Sila 3, Samisoni Langi, Jordan Hall tries; Josh Rainbow 4/5 goals) defeated South Sydney Rabbitohs 22 (Matt Coltman, Patrice Siolo, Tyrone Phillips, Jackson Garlick tries; Dylan Walker 2/2, Zach Walsh 1/2 goals).

1 Siua Lapuaho
2 Brad Cameron
3 Danny Fualalo
4 Nick Walker
5 John Sila
6 Sam Short
7 Matthew Thorpe
8 David Klemmer
9 Moses Mbye
10 Leilani Latu [c]
11 Jordan Hall
12 Josh Rainbow
13 Samisoni Langi

14 Luke Vella
15 David Minute
16 Daimond Charlie
19 Wilson Faanoi

Coach: James Whitney

1 Tyrone Pillips
2 Ryan Hall
3 Dylan Walker
4 Nathan Kavapalu
5 Patrice Siolo
6 Zach Walsh
7 Christian Hazard
8 Matt Coltman
15 Jackson Garlick
10 Levi Tupu
11 Arnold Woulf [c]
12 Bradley Croad
13 Luke Pollard

14 Jack O’Brien
17 Jacob So’oalo
18 Max Taefu
25 Aaron O’Brien

Coach: Luke Curry

Referee: Warwick Bowden
Touch Judges: Laurie Lawira, Joshua Burton

Images thanks to South Sydney Junior Rugby League


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.

Club Websites

Fox Sports Headines