2018 NRL Victoria Awards Finalists

With the NRL Victoria season now done and dusted, we turn our attention to the Awards Night, and celebrating the contribution that volunteers have made to our sport throughout the year.


The volunteers play a massive role in the development of NRL in Victoria, whether that be through refereeing, coaching or helping around their respective clubs in committee positions or other roles. Without these contributions, the grassroot competitions in Victoria would not be as successful as they were this year.


Awards are determined by nominations being received from the Rugby League community.  The nominations are assessed by the Awards Panel to determine a winner. 


2018 NRL Victoria Volunteer of the Year Finalists


NRL Victoria received a large number of nominations for this award, in which the winner will have contributed heavily within the Rugby League community of Victoria.


The six finalists for this year’s award are:


  • Jacqui Harris (Frankston Raiders)
  • Jarrod Buchanan (Werribee Bears)
  • Milly Lefau (South Eastern Titans)
  • Sally Kaiwai (Wodonga Storm)
  • Sharyn Thomson (North West Wolves)
  • Tiahnee Paterson (Werribee Bears)


2018 NRL Victoria Club Coach of the Year Finalists


NRL Victoria received numerous different nominations for this award which rewards a coach for their overall achievements and positive contribution to Rugby League in 2018.


The five finalists for this year’s award are:

  • Blain Berryman (Werribee Bears)
  • Chris Kilgariff-Naylor (Werribee Bears)
  • Henry Ene (Northern Thunder)
  • Jason Niwha (Melton Broncos)
  • Terry Constantinou (Sunbury Tigers)



2018 NRL Victoria Referee Award


The NRL Victoria Referee Award, is not just restricted to refereeing performance but focusses on the referee who has made the best general contribution to the Rugby League community as a referee.


The three finalists for this year’s award are:


  • Bryan Allan
  • Matt Hicks
  • Mohammad Hussaini


In addition to the these awards will be the awards for NRL Victoria’s representative programs.


Nominations for these representative awards are sought from staff involved in NRL Victoria’s representative programs based on the player’s achievements and positive contribution to not only the team, but also the program.


Below are the finalists for this year’s awards in both the Male and Female representative awards.


2018 NRL Victoria Male Representative Player Award Finalists:


  • Haele Finau (Under 18/CAS)
  • Harry Sio (Under 15)
  • Lama Afu (Under 12)


2018 NRL Victoria Female Representative Player Award Finalists:

  • Korenia Finau (Under 16 Girls)
  • Najvada George (Women/CAS)
  • Tasia Seumanufagai (Women/CAS)


Contribution to Representative Program Award Finalists:

  • Irene Gabell
  • Neff Tapelu
  • Terry Constantinou


The winner for each award will be announced at the NRL Victoria Awards on Saturday 6th October.



Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.