2016 NRL Victoria Player of the Year - Pride Petterson-Robati

The 2016 NRL Victoria First Grade season came to an end on September 3 with Werribee Bears defeating Casey Warriors 14-10 at Casey Fields, though throughout the 16 rounds of the season, we saw many individuals shine in their performances and help their team get over the line.

NRL Victoria Awards night was held on Saturday 15th October with the premier award of the night being the NRL Victoria Player of the Year Award. In 2015 we saw Casey’s Pride Petterson-Robati clinch the award with 3 votes in the last game of the season to ensure he would take the outright win.

After Round 5, when votes were first revealed to the Awards Night crowd, it was Petterson-Robati sitting atop the leaderboard, joined on 6 points by Sireli Rauroro from Waverley Oakleigh Panthers and Tristan Sami from Altona Roosters.

Whilst sharing the lead at Round 5, Petterson-Robati managed to open himself up a 2 vote lead after Round 9. Sitting on 11 points, Petterson-Robati found himself 2 votes ahead of Werribee premiership player and Grand Final Player of the Match Redeem Saleupolu on 9 points, with Altona’s Tristan Sami and Thunder’s William Sila behind with 7 points.

Round 10 saw no movement in the Top 10 of the leaderboard.

Round 11 had Casey Warriors battle Sunbury Tigers where Casey players earned all of the votes from the match and it was the current leader who snared the 3 votes. Pride had opened up a 5 point gap at the top of the leaderboard after Round 11 and looked to hold off any opponents in the last 5 rounds of the season.  At the conclusion of the round, Pride led Saleupolu and Sila who were tied in second on 9 points.

In a nervy last 5 rounds, Petterson-Robati had to stave off the challenges from Saleupolu and Sila. With Saleupolu earning 2 votes in Round 13, it left him just 3 points behind Petterson-Robati.

In the final round, it was to be seen whether Petterson-Robati could earn himself a single vote to be an outright winner of the award, or if Saleupolu could get himself 3 votes to walk away a joint winner of the award.

With Petterson-Robati missing out on a vote it was down to the last game of the season where Werribee Bears took on Waverley Oakleigh Panthers. With Chase Hoare snaring the 3 votes for Werribee, it meant that Pride Petterson-Robati was the outright NRL Victoria Player of the Year for the second successive year.

Pride had earned himself man of the match in an impressive 4 matches this year, Round 2 against Sunbury Tigers, Round 5 against Northern Thunder, Round 8 against Waverley Oakleigh Panthers and in Round 11 again against Sunbury Tigers.

Congratulations to Pride Petterson-Robati on a great 2016 NRL Victoria season.


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.