NRL Victoria Awards Finalists Announced

On Saturday 15th October, the NRL Victoria community will come together for the culmination of the 2016 season at the annual NRL Victoria Awards night. From the massive amount of very worthy nominations we received in each category, unfortunately we can't reward everyone, therefore the following nominees have been shortlisted in their category:

Junior Representative Player of the Year Nominees:

-          Suliasi Prescott

-          Jordin Leiu

-          Tiui Misi

-          Adidis Karora


Senior Representative Player of the Year Nominees:

-          Charles Nepia

-          Waka Sweet

-          Jamie Te Pania

-          Caine Sinclair


Coach of the Year Nominees:

-          Sal Kaiwai (Wodonga Storm)

-          Neville Rangikauhata (Doveton Steelers)

-          Tukaroa Roi (Waverley Panthers)

-          Thomas Niutili-Schmidt (Sunbury Tigers)

-          Junior Joseph (South Eastern Titans)

-          John Apulu (Truganina Rabbitohs)

-          Laila Husen (South Eastern Titans)

-          Phil Pese (Werribee Bears)


Volunteer of the Year Nominees:

-          Sal Kaiwai (Wodonga Storm)

-          Grant Paaka (Altona Roosters)

-          Lana Utatao (Casey Warriors)

-          Neff Tapelu (Northern Thunder)

-          Sally Gearing (North West Wolves)

-          Jacqui Harris (Frankston Raiders)


Contribution to Representative Program Nominees:

-          Jake Leslie

-          Neff Tapelu

-          Jason Warr

-          Janan Billings

-          Luke Wilson


Referee of the Year Nominees:

-          Matt Hicks

-          Luke Wilson

-          Campbell Utatao

-          Roger Reeves

-          Tyson Langridge


Other awards to be awarded on the night are:

-          Spirit of League Award

-          Contribution to Rugby League Award

-          Men’s and Women’s First Grade Top Scorer Awards


All leading up to the biggest award of the night:

-          2016 NRL Victoria First Grade Player of the Year.

 With Werribee and Casey fighting out the First Grade Grand Final, will the 2016 winner come from one of those teams or will he come from somewhere else?


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.