Junior Reps Road to Quarter Finals


Victoria have finished the regular season of the Cyril Connell & Mal Meninga Cups in 2nd place in Pool C with 4 wins and 2 losses in both competitions.

Victoria's U16's Cyril Connell side started the season well with a come from behind victory in Round 1 defeating the Wynnum Manly Seagulls 36-24 in Brisbane. In Round 2 they defeated the Redcliffe Dolphins in their first home game at Casey Fields 14-0. In Round 3, Victoria suffered their first loss 24-18 against the Norths Devils in Brisbane. 

After the BYE weekend, VIC recorded an impressive 36-14 victory over Redcliffe in their final away trip. In Round 6, the Norths Devils defeated Victoria for the 2nd time with a 28-16 victory at Casey Fields. Victoria finished the regular season with an impressive 42-14 victory at home last week. 

In the Mal Meninga Cup, Victoria suffered a disappointing Round 1 loss to the Wynnum Manly Seagulls 36-24. Victoria bounced back at home in Round 2 defeating the Redcliffe Dolphins 28-10. In Round 3, VIC suffered a narrow 24-16 loss against the Norths Devils in Brisbane.

After the BYE, Victoria needed to win 2/3 to secure a finals spot. In Round 5, Victoria defeated the Redcliffe Dolphins 28-16 in Brisbane. In Round 6, Victoria defeated the undefeated Norths Devils 28-18 in an impressive victory at Casey Fields however the VIC's still needed a win in the final round to cement a finals birth. Victoria made it 3 wins in a row with a dominant 52-10 victory over the Wynnum Manly Seagulls in Round 7 to confrim their spot in the Quarter Finals.

Both teams will play defending State Champions the Townsville Blackhawks this Sunday in Townsville. 



Quarter Final Team Lists

Victoria v Townsville Blackhawks

Sunday 24th April


U16's Cyril Connell Cup

12.30pm Kick-Off - Jack Manski Oval, Townsville

1. Aaron Papatua

2. Tai Pretty

3. Antonio Sanele

4. Mali Le Pou

5. Jacob Reedy-Bartlett

6. Chevan Papatua

7. Junior Teroi

8. Tevita Ofahengaue (C) 

9. Haele Finau

10. Brooks Taito

11. Manu Mani

12. Brandon Pritchard 

13. Lochlan Turnbull


14. Nathaniel Joseph

15. Jermaine Tui

16. Adidis Karora

17. Harry Ma'o


Coach - Ash Lanfranchi 


U18's Mal Meninga Cup

2.00pm Kick-Off - Jack Manski Oval, Townsville

1. Uala Salia

2. Sale Finau

3. Kelma Tuilagi

4. Pio Nakubuwai

18. Chase Aporo

6. Mykelti Lefau

7. Nikau Williams

8. John Salatielu

9. Niall Hargreaves

10. Derek Maota

11. Conaniah Kirisome

19. Jordin Leiu

13. Tiui Misi (C) 


14. Dylan Vea Te Whare

15. Jared Faale

16. Nic Flocas

17. Sulio Fifita


Coach - Janan Billings



Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.