2017 NRL Victoria Awards Finalists

2017 NRL Victoria Awards Finalists


With the NRL Victoria season now done and dusted, we turn our attention to the Awards Night, and celebrating the contribution that volunteers have made to our sport throughout the year.


The volunteers play a massive role in the development of NRL in Victoria, whether that be through refereeing, coaching or helping around their respective clubs in committee positions or other roles. Without these contributions, the grassroot competitions in Victoria would not be as successful as they were this year.


Awards are determined by nominations being received from the Rugby League community.  The nominations are assessed by the Awards Panel to determine a winner. The Awards Panel is made up of with Joseph Ryan [NRL Victoria Chairman], Greg Brentnall [NRL Strategy Consultant] and Brent Silva [NRL Victoria General Manager].


2017 NRL Victoria Volunteer of the Year Finalists


NRL Victoria received 30 different nominations for this award, in which the winner will have contributed heavily within the Rugby League community of Victoria.


The six finalists for this year’s award are:


  • Ø  Elly Buchanan [Pakenham Eels]
  • Ø  Jacinta Lagàaìa [Truganina Rabbitohs]
  • Ø  Sharyn Thomson [North West Wolves]
  • Ø  Slav Civcic [Altona Roosters]
  • Ø  Stuart Hodges [Wodonga Storm]
  • Ø  Tiahnee Paterson [Werribee Bears]


2017 NRL Victoria Club Coach of the Year Finalists


NRL Victoria received 54 different nominations for this award which rewards a coach for their overall achievements and positive contribution to Rugby League in 2017.


The seven finalists for this year’s award are:


  • Ø  Andrew Taylor [Sunbury Tigers – U/18’s]
  • Ø  Blain Berryman [Werribee Bears – 2nd Division]
  • Ø  Henry Ene [Northern Thunder – U/14’s]
  • Ø  Laila Husen [North West Wolves – Girls Tag]
  • Ø  Mak Utatao [Casey Warriors – U/16’s]
  • Ø  Richard Gabriel [Altona Roosters – U/13’s]
  • Ø  Tamatao Williams [Chaffey Titans – SRL First Grade]




2017 NRL Victoria Referee Award


The NRL Victoria Referee Award, is not just restricted to refereeing performance but focusses on the referee who has made the best general contribution to the Rugby League community as a referee.


The six finalists for this year’s award are:


  • Ø  Brian Michalowsky
  • Ø  Cambell Utatao
  • Ø  Jason Warr
  • Ø  Matthew Hicks
  • Ø  Scott Grady
  • Ø  Tyson Langridge


In addition to the these awards will be the awards for NRL Victoria’s representative programs.


Nominations for these representative awards are sought from staff involved in NRL Victoria’s representative programs based on the player’s achievements and positive contribution to not only the team, but also the program.


An Awards Panel composed of Joseph Ryan [NRL Victoria Chairman], Brent Silva [NRL Victoria General Manager] and Greg Brentnall [NRL Strategy Consultant] assess the nominations received to determine the award winner.


Below are the finalists for this year’s awards in the junior representative and senior representative categories.


2017 NRL Victoria Junior Representative Player Award Finalists:


  • Ø  Clayton Tapelu [U/12’s – Hume City Bulldogs]
  • Ø  Faleseu Taleo [ U/16’s – Casey Warriors]
  • Ø  Harry Sio [U/14’s – Sunshine Cowboys]
  • Ø  Jared Nauma [U/15’s – Casey Warriors]
  • Ø  Jessica Rastrick [U/16’s Girls – Melton Secondary College]
  • Ø  Jordin Leiu [U/18’s – Casey Warriors]


2017 NRL Victoria Senior Representative Player Award Finalists:


  • Ø  Chase Aporo [U/20’s – Casey Warriors]
  • Ø  Katrina Edwards [Women – Truganina Rabbitohs]
  • Ø  Nick Hay [U/20’s – Doveton Steelers]
  • Ø  Oneata Schwalger [Women – South Eastern Titans]
  • Ø  Terry Constantinou [Men – Sunbury Tigers]


The winner for each award will be announced at the NRL Victoria Awards on Saturday 7th October.


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.