State Combine invitees announced

Six extra Peter Jackson VFL players have been invited to test at the 2016 Victorian State Combine, after Coburg’s Luke Ryan and Footscray’s Ben Long scored invites to the national NAB AFL Draft Combine last week. 

Ryan’s Lions teammate Robbie Fox, 23, will join him at the State Combine after establishing himself as a key member of Coburg’s midfield in 2016. 

Highly-rated Casey Scorpions pair Declan Keilty, a 21-year-old key defender, and 22-year-old Oscar McInerney, a 203cm ruckman, will attend the Combine, as will emerging North Ballarat 20-year-old Rowan Marshall, who has provided ruck support to Roosters champion Orren Stephenson this year. 

Rounding out the VFL invitees is first-year Geelong duo Tom Stewart, a 23-year-old defender, and 20-year-old midfielder Sam McLachlan. 

The State Combines will feature 100 invitees, and will take place at Etihad Stadium on Sunday October 9 after the four-day national Combine has concluded. Attendees will be tested for their athletic traits and football skills as well as having their personality and character assessed, but on a lesser scale than for those attending the national Combine. 

Players invited to the State Combine have had interest shown in them by AFL clubs, but weren’t nominated by the minimum five clubs required to be invited to the national Combine.

CLICK HERE to read about the NAB AFL Draft Combine invitees, Ryan and Long.


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.

VFL 2018 Ladder

Peter Jackson VFL 2018
1 Richmond 48
2 Casey Demons 48
3 Geelong 40
4 Williamstown 36
5 Box Hill Hawks 32
6 Collingwood 32
7 Port Melbourne 32
8 Essendon 28
9 Footscray 28
10 North Melbourne 28
11 Sandringham 22
12 Werribee 16
13 Northern Blues 12
14 Frankston 8
15 Coburg 6