VFL state squad reduced to 27

The 27-player state training squad for the May 27 clash between the Peter Jackson VFL and the WAFL at North Port Oval is full of Victorian-based talent that will attempt to end a recent losing run at representative level. 

The VFL has lost its last three state games – in 2013 to the WAFL and in 2014 and 2016 to the SANFL – since defeating the Tasmanian State League by 108 points at Blundstone Arena, Hobart in 2012. 

13 of the VFL’s 14 clubs are represented in the 2017 training squad, with a final team of 23 to be selected after a two week preparation.

Port Melbourne is best represented in the squad with six players, ahead of Williamstown with four, Essendon with three, then the Box Hill Hawks, North Ballarat, Northern Blues and Werribee with two. Sandringham is not represented as its two selections in the initial 42-player state squad, Tom Curren and Elliot Le Grice, have unfortunately been ruled out due to injury.

Box Hill’s Andrew Moore, Casey Demons’ Bayley Fritsch and Port Melbourne’s Khan Haretuku have been added to the training squad after not being included in the initial squad that was announced two weeks ago. 

Only eight members of the training squad have previously played in a state game, with Sam Darley (Richmond), Michael Gibbons (Williamstown), Matt Hanson (Werribee), Khan Haretuku (Port Melbourne), Leigh Masters (Williamstown), Brody Mihocek (Port Melbourne), Nick Rippon (North Ballarat) and Michael Sodomaco (Werribee) representing the VFL in its 19-point loss to the SANFL at Adelaide Oval last year. 

The team will this year be coached by Casey Demons senior coach Justin Plapp, with his assistants being North Ballarat midfield coach Nick Daffy, Werribee back line coach Ben Patrick, Box Hill Hawks back line coach Ricky Petterd and Casey midfield coach Danny Ryan. 

The state game will be broadcast live on Channel 7 from 2pm on Saturday, May 27. 

See the 27-player VFL training squad below: 

Andrew Moore Box Hill Hawks
Sam Switkowski Box Hill Hawks
Bayley Fritsch  Casey Demons
Tom Goodwin Coburg Lions
Jordan Kelly Collingwood
Alex Boyse Essendon
James Ferry Essendon
Nick Hind Essendon
Nick Jamieson Footscray
Tom Atkins Geelong
Andrew Hooper North Ballarat
Nick Rippon North Ballarat
Cam O’Shea Northern Blues
Tom Wilson Northern Blues
Brody Mihocek Port Melbourne
Brodie Murdoch Port Melbourne
Eli Templeton Port Melbourne
Jordan Lisle Port Melbourne
Khan Haretuku Port Melbourne
Tom O’Sullivan Port Melbourne
Sam Darley Richmond
Matt Hanson Werribee Tigers
Michael Sodomaco Werribee Tigers
Brett Bewley Williamstown
Josh Newman Williamstown
Leigh Masters Williamstown
Michael Gibbons Williamstown
Talented Developing Players:  
Nick Evans Box Hill
Ben Allan Coburg Lions
Lachlan Tardrew Collingwood
Nash Holmes Essendon
Andrew Tashevski-Beckwith Footscray
Dan Capiron Geelong
Brenton Payne North Ballarat
Marcus Stavrou Northern Blues
Mack Rivett Port Melbourne
Kade Answerth Sandringham
Joe Maishman Werribee Tigers
Billy Myers Williamstown


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.

VFL 2018 Ladder

Peter Jackson VFL 2018
1 Casey Demons 48
2 Richmond 44
3 Geelong 40
4 Williamstown 36
5 Box Hill Hawks 32
6 Collingwood 32
7 Port Melbourne 32
8 Essendon 28
9 Footscray 28
10 North Melbourne 24
11 Sandringham 22
12 Werribee 16
13 Northern Blues 8
14 Frankston 8
15 Coburg 6