Winners in Round 5 Peter Jackson VFL saturday games were: Werribee, Essendon, Port Melbourne and Williamstown.

Across all results, only Williamstown led at quarter time and went on to claim the win with the other games taking a different direction after the quarter time break. Port Melbourne left its run till the final term to go 5-0 to start the year, Essendon added to its percentage in the second half, taking control Geelong in the second half while Werribee stormed home against Collingwood after seeing the Magpies kick the first seven goals of the game.

We look at all the Saturday Peter Jackson VFL results:


ESSENDON 17.14 (116) d GEELONG 8.7 (51)

Geelong jumped to a 17-point lead early in the second term, but Essendon piled on 11 of the next 13 goals of the game to race to a 47-point lead in the early stages of the final term. Four unanswered timeon goals in the final term – three to Tom Bellchambers – helped the Bombers jump Geelong on the ladder by percentage into ninth spot.

Leading goalkickers: Essendon – Boyse, Marklew, Bellchambers 3, Begley, Langford 2 / Geelong – Tsitas 3, Black 2 2

Form: Essendon – L W L L W / Geelong – W L W L L

Next up: Coburg vs Essendon / Footscray vs Geelong

CLICK HERE to see play-by-play scores from this game


PORT MELBOURNE 17.9 (111) d FOOTSCRAY 12.9 (81)

In a thrilling Channel 7 game, 20 pointw in the second term was the most that separated both sides until the final quarter. With scores level 23 minutes into the term, Jordan Lisle kicked his third of the day, starting a five goal unanswered run by Port, to see them produce their first win against the Bulldogs and a 5-0 start to the season.

Leading goalkickers: Port Melbourne – Conway 4, Haretuku, Lisle 3, Pearson 2 / Footscray – Panayi, Honeychruch, Shea 2

Form: Port Melbourne – W W W W W / Footscray – L W W W L

Next up: Casey Demons vs Port Melbourne / Footscray vs Geelong

CLICK HERE to see play-by-play scores from this game


WILLIAMSTOWN 17.21 (123) d NORTH BALLARAT 4.8 (32)

An eight-goal to one first term helped set up Williamstown’s second win in a row, leaving North ballarat winless after Round 5. Inaccuracy cost the Seagulls a bigger win, kicking six behinds in both the second and final terms to claim 21 behinds from 38 scoring shots.

Leading goalkickers: Williamstown – Siposs, Masters 4, Norton, Buykx-Smith 2/ North Ballarat – Walters 2

Form: Williamstown – W L L W W / North Ballarat – L L L L L

Next up: Williamstown vs Richmond / North Ballarat vs Werribee

CLICK HERE to see play-by-play scores from this game


WERRIBEE 17.10 (112) d COLLINGWOOD 15.11 (101)

After trailing by 41 points at quarter-time, Werribee staged a fighting comeback, to take control of the game and claim a third win in a row. The Tigers kicked six goals to one in the third term, with Matt Munro but the Tigers infront in timeon that quarter, and they were never headed for the remainder of the game.

Leading goalkickers: Werribee – Robinson, Zurhaar, Jones, Ellard, Munro, Larkey 2 / Collingwood – Cox 4, Kirby 3, Crocker 2

Form:  Werribee – L L W W W / Collingwood – W L L L L

Next up: North Ballarat vs Werribee / Collingwood vs Box Hill Hawks

CLICK HERE to see play-by-play scores from this game




Northern Blues vs Casey Demons (Live stream – CLICK HERE to watch)
Coburg vs Sandringham (Casey Radio)
Box Hill Hawks vs Richmond (3WBC)


Photo: Arj Giese


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.

VFL 2018 Ladder

Peter Jackson VFL 2018
1 Richmond 44
2 Casey Demons 44
3 Geelong 40
4 Box Hill Hawks 32
5 Williamstown 32
6 Essendon 28
7 Collingwood 28
8 Port Melbourne 28
9 Footscray 28
10 North Melbourne 24
11 Sandringham 22
12 Werribee 16
13 Northern Blues 8
14 Frankston 8
15 Coburg 6