Box Hill enters Swisse VFL Women's

AFL Victoria has today announced that Box Hill Hawks (VFL) have been granted a licence to compete in the Swisse VFL Women’s competition in 2017. 

The move comes after Knox Football Club, in consultation with AFL Victoria, decided to return to a premier community football competition.

The decision is aimed at helping further grow the talent pool in the region, with Knox deciding it was better placed to focus on the development of its local talent at a community level, to create a new talent pathway for its players to the state league.

AFL Victoria CEO Steven Reaper acknowledged the contribution Knox had provided to women’s football in the region.

“AFL Victoria would like to thank Knox president Joe Aiello, club delegate Scott Daubeny, coach Clint Martin, the committee, players and volunteers for their tireless efforts in the inaugural year of the Swisse VFL Women’s competition.

“After a tough season for the club on the field, Knox’s leadership and commitment to develop women's football was rewarded at the women’s draft with their own Melissa Kuys selected to play for Collingwood, which is a credit to the club.” 

Knox representative Scott Daubeny said the club is proud to have been part of the inaugural Swisse VFL Women’s competition.

“The club is extremely pleased to have been involved in the first Victorian women’s state league and we have learnt a lot during our time this season,” he said.

“Through our experience in the VFL Women’s competition, we believe we are in a strong position to share what we have learnt with our current and future players and build on the strong foundations we have already established in our community and youth girls programs.

“We look forward to concentrating on growing the next generation of female footballers and are committed to providing opportunities for women to develop their skills to reach the next level in 2017.” 

Box Hill Hawks AFL affiliate Hawthorn will be supporting the VFL club’s women's venture, with Hawthorn CEO Stuart Fox  saying it is an exciting time for the club in furthering its current women’s strategy.

“Today’s announcement will allow female footballers in the eastern region a terrific pathway for their development and hopefully encourage females to play football from a junior age,” Fox said.

“Our alignment with Box Hill has spanned over 16 years and it is fantastic that our relationship allows us the opportunity to have an immediate impact on women playing football at a grassroots level.”

Box Hill has announced former Frankston VFL coach, Patrick Hill will lead its state women’s side as the inaugural coach following successful stints at Box Hill as an assistant coach and more recently as the senior coach at Frankston for the last two seasons.

“This is a terrific opportunity for young women in the area to further their development and align themselves with a terrific club,” Hill said.

“I’m looking forward to assessing the talent and encourage all those interested to register by November 21.”

Box Hill’s inclusion in the VFL’s Women competition will see that the state women’s league will remain a ten team competition.

Box Hill becomes the second Peter Jackson VFL club to be granted a license in the Swisse VFL Women’s competition, following the announcement of Geelong’s license last month.

Box Hill Hawks Talent ID Day

Saturday 26th November

 The Ricoh Centre Waverley Park

Click here for more Information and to register


Hawks announce VFL women's side -


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.

VFL 2018 Ladder

Peter Jackson VFL 2018
1 Richmond 56
2 Casey Demons 56
3 Geelong 52
4 Williamstown 52
5 Collingwood 48
6 Box Hill Hawks 48
7 Port Melbourne 40
8 Essendon 36
9 Footscray 32
10 North Melbourne 32
11 Werribee 28
12 Northern Blues 24
13 Sandringham 22
14 Frankston 8
15 Coburg 6