SANFL triumphs again over VFL

The decade long winless drought against the SANFL continued today for the Peter Jackson VFL, suffering a 22-point defeat. 

Despite the VFL opening an 11-point lead early in the final term, the visitors stormed home with six of the last seven goals of the game to claim the win 18.10 118 to 14.12 96. 

Williamstown's Adam Marcon was awarded the Frank Johnson Medal for his tireless work around the ground, amassing 29 disposals in the VFL loss. 

It was the VFL that opened the scoring for the afternoon through Julian Rowe, but the VFL then struggled to contain Tim McIntyre who sparked the SANFL with two goals in five minutes to grab the lead. Leigh Ryswyk made it three in a row, but a late snap by Adam Cockie ensured the VFL were back within five points at quarter time. <