AFL permission to train list announced

Williamstown best and fairest Liam Picken is among 14 VFL players who have been granted permission to train at AFL clubs.

Other notable VFL players training with AFL clubs include Victorian state representative Hayden Skipworth and Coburg Tiger Fortunato Caruso, who won back-to-back Morrish Medals in the TAC Cup. The VFL's 2007 Fothergill-Round Medallist Jason Davenport is looking for a second AFL home.

Recent additions are underlined:

Adelaide - Brian Donnelly (Ireland)

Brisbane Lions - Nick Davis (Sydney Swans), Daniel Dzufer (Brisbane Lions), Phillip Smith (Brisbane Lions), Joel Tippett (Brisbane Lions)

Carlton - Greg Bentley (Port Adelaide), Lachie Hill (Carlton Rookie List), Sam Jacobs (Carlton Rookie List), Darren Pfeiffer (Carlton), Chris Johnson (Melbourne)

Collingwood - Colm Begley (Brisbane Lions), Leigh Brown (North Melbourne), Toby Thoolen (Collingwood)

Essendon - Stuart Crameri (Bendigo Bombers), Tom Hislop (Essendon), Hayden Skipworth (Bendigo Bombers)

Fremantle -  Chris Smith (Fremantle), Matthew Moody (Brisbane Lions

Geelong - nil

Hawthorn - Nathan Batsanis (Box Hill Hawks), Jarrod Bayliss (Box Hill Hawks), Alex Grima (Hawthorn), Haydn Kiel (Brisbane Lions), Danny Meyer (Richmond), Gary Moss (Hawthorn), Cameron Pederson (Box Hill Hawks), Hugh Sandilands (Hawthorn), Ben Smithwick (Box Hill Hawks), Matthew Suckling (Hawthorn), Rhys O'Sullivan (Box Hill Hawks), Thomas Warby (Box Hill Hawks)

Melbourne - Daniel Hughes (Melbourne rookie 2007), Shane Tregear (Sandringham) 

North Melbourne - Alan Obst (North Melbourne)

Port Adelaide - Jace Bode (Melbourne), Daniel Boyle (Central Districts), Daniel Caire (West Adelaide), Josh Carr (Fremantle), Jason Davenport (Geelong), Tom Holmes (Glenelg), Charlie McAdam (North Adelaide), James Meiklejohn (Port Magpies), Jessie O’Brien (North Adelaide), Brayden O’Hara (Central District), Chris Schmidt (Brisbane Lions), Daniel Stewart (North Adelaide), Wade Thompson (North Adelaide)

Richmond - Adam Cockshell (Port Adelaide), David Gourdis (Richmond), Matt Davis (Coburg), Nick Liddle (Coburg), Jon Morris (Coburg), Fortunato Caruso (Coburg

St Kilda - Nathan Carroll (Melbourne), Brad Howard (St Kilda), Sam Iles (Collingwood), James Kielt (Derry, Ireland)

Sydney - Aaron Bruce (Sydney Swans), Peter Faulks (Sydney Swans), Michael Pyke (Moutaubane, France), Kristin Thornton (Sydney Swans)

West Coast - nil

Western Bulldogs - Liam Picken (Williamstown)


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.

VFL 2018 Ladder

Peter Jackson VFL 2018
1 Richmond 56
2 Casey Demons 56
3 Geelong 52
4 Williamstown 52
5 Collingwood 48
6 Box Hill Hawks 48
7 Port Melbourne 40
8 Essendon 36
9 Footscray 32
10 North Melbourne 32
11 Werribee 28
12 Northern Blues 24
13 Sandringham 22
14 Frankston 8
15 Coburg 6