VFL Saturday results: Preliminary Final

Box Hill Hawks are the first team through to the 2015 Peter Jackson VFL Legendairy Grand Final after a tense seven-point win over Sandringham at North Port Oval today.

The Hawks jumped out to a match high 29-point lead at quarter time with the breeze, with Matt Spangher a key for Box Hill in defence. The Zebras made the most of their opportunities in the second term to reduce the margin to 14 at half time, with Darren Minchington giving his side plenty of run through the middle.

The Hawks were off target in the third term, and Sandringham made the most of its opportunities to make it an 11-point game at the final change. Myke Cook, Minchington and Brodie Murdoch were keys for the Zebras through the middle and from half back.

After the Hawks led all day, the Zebras hit the front 11 minutes into the final term through a Kenny Ong long bomb but it was to only last for seven minutes as Patrick Lawlor levelled the scores before a rushed behind gave Box Hill back the lead. The experience of the Hawks started to show, with Jonathan Simpkin, Will Langford, Brendan Whitecross, Marc Lock and David Mirra helping push the Hawks forward.

27 minutes into the final term with the ball traveling end-to-end, Will Langford ran into an open goal for the sealer as the Hawks held on for the remaining five minutes of the game to book a Grand Final berth for the third year in a row.

James Sicily was the main goal kicker for Box Hill with three, with Jed Anderson and Marc Lock kicking two apiece.

Mitch Brown started in defence for Sandringham but was quickly swung forward and was their key target with strong marking and four goals.

Box Hill will meet the winner of Sunday’s game between Williamstown and Essendon. 


CLICK HERE for the main match details


Development League Grand Final

Williamstown and Box Hill produced another classic Development League Grand Final, with the Seagulls winning by a golden point after the teams were tied at the end of regulation time.

For the second time in three years, the Seagulls have won with a golden point, first doing so in 2013, as a behind to Jake Owen was enough three minutes after the final siren was to sound to give his side a three-peat of premiership wins.

Jake McKenzie was judged best on ground for his game in defence for the Seagulls.

CLICK HERE for the best players and goal kickers


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.

VFL 2018 Ladder

Peter Jackson VFL 2018
1 Richmond 56
2 Casey Demons 56
3 Geelong 52
4 Williamstown 52
5 Collingwood 48
6 Box Hill Hawks 48
7 Port Melbourne 40
8 Essendon 36
9 Footscray 32
10 North Melbourne 32
11 Werribee 28
12 Northern Blues 24
13 Sandringham 22
14 Frankston 8
15 Coburg 6