Channel 7 broadcast games announced

The Peter Jackson VFL Grand Final replay between Footscray and Box Hill Hawks will kick off the 2015 VFL TV broadcasts this season on Channel 7.

AFL Victoria has announced the first month of broadcast games for season 2015, with new TV rights partner Channel 7 to feature reigning premiers Footscray unfurling its flag against the Hawks on Saturday April 18 at Victoria University Whitten Oval in Round 1.

Under the new TV rights agreement Channel 7 will show the VFL ‘Match of the Round’ live in Melbourne every weekend at midday throughout the regular season, as well as the VFL Legendairy Finals Series and Grand Final, with the TV schedule to be released on a month by month basis. 

Round 2 will see the first of two Sunday home and away broadcast games for the season, with the traditional ANZAC Day weekend clash between Essendon and Collingwood at Windy Hill. 

This will be followed by the Round 3 battle of standalone VFL teams Coburg and Frankston at Piranha Park, with both teams producing AFL draftees at the end of 2014 in Adam Saad (Gold Coast Suns) and Nic Newman (Sydney). 

Rounding out the first group of TV matches will be a trip to Casey Fields for the Round 4 clash between Casey Scorpions and Sandringham, with both teams welcoming new coaches in 2015 in Justin Plapp (Casey) and Paul Hudson (Sandringham). 

  • CLICK HERE for the full 2015 Peter Jackson VFL season fixture

AFL Victoria General Manager Steven Reaper said the Grand Final replay will be the perfect way to start the new two year agreement with Seven. 

“Starting the year with the two best sides from 2014 will showcase the standard of the competition to our new audience on Channel 7. 

“The new agreement with Seven Melbourne will provide great exposure for our competition and clubs, and provide football fans with a sneak peak of the next Michael Barlow, Isaac Smith, James Podsiadly or Kane Lambert, all who were drafted from our competition. 

“We finished with a peak TV viewership of 301,000 and a crowd of over 24,000 people the last time Footscray and Box Hill Hawks met , so we look forward to further growing our VFL audience throughout the season.” 

The move to Channel 7 will be the first change in television broadcaster for the competition since 1987, when the ABC first covered the then VFA finals, taking over the rights from ATV 10. 

A host of former AFL players including the likes of Shannon Byrnes (Melbourne/Casey Scorpions) James Polkinghorne (Brisbane/Essendon), Kyle Hardingham (Essendon/Essendon VFL), Jordan Schroder (Geelong/Essendon VFL) Trent Denis Lane (St Kilda/Sandringham), Clint Jones (St Kilda/Sandringham), Mitch Brown (Geelong/Sandringham), Sam Dunnell (St Kilda/Williamstown) and Jordan Lisle (Brisbane/Port Melbourne) are set to continue their careers in the VFL this season, along with a host of TAC Cup graduates including Morrish Medal winners Jacob Chisari (Bendigo Pioneers)and Alex Carr (Gippsland Power).

  • CLICK HERE for a list of current recruits and departures for each club

The Peter Jackson VFL season starts on Friday April 17 under lights at Avalon Airport Oval with the clash between Werribee and Geelong.


All games live on Channel 7 

Round 1: Saturday April 18, 12pm – Footscray vs Box Hill Hawks 

Round 2: Sunday April 26, 11:30am – Essendon vs Collingwood 

Round 3: Saturday May 2, 12pm – Coburg vs Frankston 

Round 4: Saturday May 9, 12pm – Casey Scorpions vs Sandringham


(Photo: Shane Goss)



Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.

VFL 2018 Ladder

Peter Jackson VFL 2018
1 Richmond 56
2 Casey Demons 56
3 Geelong 52
4 Williamstown 52
5 Collingwood 48
6 Box Hill Hawks 48
7 Port Melbourne 40
8 Essendon 36
9 Footscray 32
10 North Melbourne 32
11 Werribee 28
12 Northern Blues 24
13 Sandringham 22
14 Frankston 8
15 Coburg 6