Woodward wins J.J. Liston Trophy

Box Hill Hawks Alex Woodward is the 2014 J.J. Liston Trophy winner. 

The Hawthorn listed midfielder claimed the competitions top honour with three votes in the final round against the Northern Blues, finishing clear of North Ballarat’s Liam Anthony (17 votes), Footscray’s Tom Campbell (15), Port Melbourne’s Toby Pinwill (14) and Williamstown’s Scott Clouston (14). 

Woodward polled in nine of his 13 VFL games this season - the most individual votes awarded to any player this season -receiving best on ground honours on four occasions averaging 23 disposals and six tackles a game. 

  • Listen to Alex Woodward speak about his win on the VFL Podcast (5 minute mark)