WAFL defeats Peter Jackson VFL

The Peter Jackson VFL's two decade dominance over the WAFL has come to an end with an 17-point defeat at Northam on Saturday. Despite leading by as much as 31 points midway through the third term, the VFL were unable to stop the WAFL's run and forward pressure in the final term. 

The game started evenly between the two sides, but the WAFL were unable to capitalise in the first term, missing a number of scoring opportunities. The VFL made no mistakes when heading forward from limited opportunities, and took the lead at the six minute mark through Michael Lourey on the run. A run of five behinds by the WAFL was punished as Port Melbourne's Josh Scipione kicked two in a row, and Sandringham's Chris Michaliades, Werribee's Ben Warren and Lourey with his second of the term gave the VFL a 22 point quarter time lead. 

It was all WAFL in the early stages of the second term as the home side got on top in the middle. With a number of silly free kicks given away by the VFL, the WAFL added the first three majors of the second term to get within two points of the visitors. Kane Lambert, Marcus Marigliani and Evan Panozza started to have an influence off half back, and suddenly the Vics went on a four goal run to regain their momentum. Warren and Michaliades both added their second goals, and gave their side a 25 point lead into time on. Whilst Wayde Twomey kicked two late, the VFL were once again able to settle through goals to Panozza drifting forward and Lloyd with his second to give them a 25 point half time lead. 

The second half was a different story for the VFL. despite kicking two of the first three goals of the third quarter, and jumping out to a 31-point lead at the 13 minute mark, the WAFL were about to turn the game on its head. The home side kicked the next four goals to get within six points, but a late Scipione goal stopped the momentum to give the VFL a 14 point three quarter time lead. 

It took the WAFL 12 minutes into the final term to regain the lead for the first time since early in the opening quarter, kicking the opening three goals of the final term - the third to Simpson medalist Wayde Twomey with his fifth. 

Once in the lead the WAFL kicked the last two goals of the game to run out 18 point winners - the VFL's only scoring two behinds in the final term. 

Chris Cain was named the Frank Johnson medalist for the VFL with 32 disposals, with other best being Marigliani and Panozza with their desperation in defence, Sewell (27 disposals), Kane Lambert and Lloyd. 

WAFL. 2.7   7.11 12.13 17.16.118

VFL 6.5. 12.6. 15.9. 15.11.101

VFL GOALS: Lloyd 4, Scipione 3, Michaliades 2, Warren 2, Lourey 2, Lambert 1, Panozza 1 VFL BEST: Cain (32 disposals) Sewell (27), Panozza (14), Marigliani (26), Lambert (22), Lloyd (12) 

VFL Frank Johnson Medal- Chris Cain (32 disposals) 

WAFL Simpson Medal Wayde Twomey 5 goals


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.

VFL 2018 Ladder

Peter Jackson VFL 2018
1 Richmond 56
2 Casey Demons 56
3 Geelong 52
4 Williamstown 52
5 Collingwood 48
6 Box Hill Hawks 48
7 Port Melbourne 40
8 Essendon 36
9 Footscray 32
10 North Melbourne 32
11 Werribee 28
12 Northern Blues 24
13 Sandringham 22
14 Frankston 8
15 Coburg 6