Geelong The 2012 Premiers

Geelong has taken out the 2012 Peter Jackson VFL premiership, running away from Port Melbourne in the final term to win by 33 points. In a game were no more than two goals separated the two sides for three quarters, Geelong kicked the final five goals of the game to claim the 2012 premiership.

Geelong continued their trend of a VFL premiership each five years, adding to their 2002 and 2007 premierships with 2012 glory. The win denied Port Melbourne back to back flags, and repeated the result from the 2002 Grand Final when these sides last met in the season finale.

Port Melbourne led by four points at quarter time, two points at half time, before Geelong took the lead by six points going into the final term. Dean Galea levelled the scores early in the final term for Port, but Geelong overcame inaccuracy to pile on the goals late to Stephenson, Corrigan, Burbury and Byrnes after the siren to win by 33 points.

Geelong’s George Horlin Smith was awarded the Norm Goss Medal for the best on ground in the Grand Final.

Full amtch reports will follow during the week, click HERE later for best and goals.

Port Melbourne   4.2  7.6  10.9  11.9 (75)
Geelong Cats   3.4  6.10  10.15  14.24 (108)


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.

VFL 2018 Ladder

Peter Jackson VFL 2018
1 Richmond 56
2 Casey Demons 56
3 Geelong 52
4 Williamstown 52
5 Collingwood 48
6 Box Hill Hawks 48
7 Port Melbourne 40
8 Essendon 36
9 Footscray 32
10 North Melbourne 32
11 Werribee 28
12 Northern Blues 24
13 Sandringham 22
14 Frankston 8
15 Coburg 6