History of the VFL 1877 - 2013


Victorian Football Association begins. Foundation Senior clubs are Albert Park, Carlton, East Melbourne, Essendon, Geelong, Hotham, Melbourne, St. Kilda and West Melbourne.


East Melbourne withdraws from the competition. Throughout this period apart from matches between the Senior VFA clubs, all Senior clubs (20 players a side) play numerous matches against minor and junior clubs (25 players a side).