14 new members from 7 nations inducted into WBSC Softball Hall of Fame




14 new members from 7 nations inducted into WBSC Softball Hall of Fame


GABORONE, Botswana -- Fourteen new members -- including Olympic medallists, umpires and coaches -- from seven nations and four continents were elected into the WBSC Softball Hall of Fame.


From the Gaborone International Convention Centre (GICC), the WBSC Softball Congress ratified the Softball Hall of Fame Commission's election results:

  • Luis Diaz Ramirez (Colombia) - Administrator
  • Burket Dorsett (Bahamas) - Administrator
  • Doug Chase (Canada) - Player
  • Diana Lucia Duarte Garcia (Guatemala) - Player
  • Johnny Lau Kwok Yip (Hong Kong) - Player
  • Jarrad Martin (New Zealand) - Player
  • Melanie Roche (Australia) - Player
  • Fiona Timu (New Zealand) - Player
  • Natalie Ward (Australia) - Player
  • Godfrey Burnside (Bahamas) - Coach
  • Raymundo Narvaez Montalvo (Colombia) - Coach
  • Roberto Peralta (Panama) - Umpire
  • Bob Leveloff (New Zealand) - Meritorious Service
  • Andrew J. Sherman (Guatemala) - Meritorious Service


New Zealand led with three new members placed into the Softball Hall of Fame, while Australia, Bahamas, Colombia and Guatemala each had two.


Aussie softball legends Melanie Roche and Natalie Ward played at every Olympic Games in which softball has been featured, winning the silver medal with the Australian National Team in 2004 and bronze in 1996, 2000 and 2008.


"WBSC welcomes these new Softball Hall of Fame inductees and their home federations for helping to shape history and our sport," said newly elected WBSC Softball Chairman Tommy Velazquez. "WBSC Softball Hall of Fame members represent not only years of the highest excellence on the international stage, but also years of service and dedication to building our global sport. Special thanks go to the Softball Hall of Fame Commission for their diligent selection of these legends."


The latest inductees into the WBSC Softball Hall of Fame raises the total membership to 225.


The Softball Hall of Fame was established in 1981 and inducts new members every two years.


# # #


Contact: media@wbsc.org, @WBSC 



About the World Baseball Softball Confederation 


Headquartered in Lausanne, Switzerland -- the Olympic Capital -- the World Baseball Softball Confederation (WBSC) is the world governing body for baseball and softball. WBSC has 184 National Federation and Associate Members in 128 countries and territories across Asia, Africa, Americas, Europe and Oceania, which represent a united baseball/softball sports movement that encompasses over 65 million athletes and attracts approximately 150 million fans to stadiums worldwide annually. 


The WBSC governs all international competitions involving official National Teams. The WBSC oversees the Softball World Championships (Men, Women, U-19 Men, and U-19 Women), Premier12, World Baseball Classic, and Baseball World Cups (U-12, U-15, U-18, U-23 and Women's).

For more information, visit: www.wbsc.org


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.

Sponsor Information