Sydney University Win Thrilling Div One Decider

Sydney University have won the Division One premiership after a thrilling one point victory over Pennant Hills.

The Students led going into the last quarter and just held on to run out 8.5 to 7.10 victors.

It wasn’t the ideal start to a grand final with the scoreboard dying just before the first bounce resulting in no scoreboard being used for over three quarters. However, the great game would be played on field with a tight, hard fought contest in the first quarter. One goal to either side kept it close with the Demons going into the quarter time huddle with a one point advantage. The second quarter started and was a bit more open with both sides kicking multiple goals with the Students wrestling the advantage back their as they went into the main break with a 5 point lead.

The Students had the win in the third term and needed to make the most of it and they did kicking four goals for the quarter but the Demons were able to kick two of their own as they when into the final huddle trailing by 15 points. The Demons through everything at the Students in the last for the chance to lift the premiership and kicked the first two goals of the quarter to bring the margin back to one point with six minutes remaining. But there would be no score for the rest of the match as the Students were crowned premiers.

It’s the Students third premiership in a row under coach Adam Clark after they were promoted into Division One this season after back to back Division Two flags in 2013 and 2014.

Chris Kendrick was terrific in the midfield, driving the third quarter push and was awarded the best on ground medal while Michael Higgins and William Pearce were also outstanding through the midfield. For the Demons, Adam Smith and Tim Scoular were strong in the defensive 50 while Ted Widmer was also outstanding in the ruck.

Pennant Hills Demons 1.3-9 3.4-22 5.6-36 7.10-52
Sydney University 1.2-8 4.3-27 8.3-51 8.5-53

Goal Kickers: S. Zikman 3, T. Abbott, A. Brawn, R. Watts, J. Clarke
Best Players: A. Smith, T. Scoular, T. Widmer, T. Abbott, S. Zikman, L. Vile
Goal Kickers: C. Kendrick 2, G. Burch, M. Carey, A. Holmes, N. Dale, A. MacPherson, C. Browne
Best Players: S. Ryan, M. Higgins, W. Pearse, D. Vincent, A. Hawkins, C. Kendrick


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.