AFL Sydney Women's Team of the Year - Midfielders & Interchange Analysis

Wing - Melissa Freckelton (Western Wolves) – This is Freckelton's third straight Team of the Year selection. She has been one of the most consistent players in the league over the last couple of years. Was named nine times in the best out of the 15 games she played which is an incredible effort. Was a part of both AFL Sydney Representative sides in games against AFL Canberra in 2014. Her four goal haul in Round 12 against Balmain was one of many strong performances throughout the year.


Centre - Courtney Gum (UNSW/ES) - The awards just keep mounting up for Gum. This is her third straight appearance in the Team of the Year after also being named captain of the side in 2012. The reigning Rep Player of the Year played in both Representative games this year and was named AFL Sydney's Best on Ground in game two at Blacktown. Her Round 6 performance against Balmain was spectacular where she kicked three goals and showed why she is considered one of the best players in the country. Gum also represented Melbourne FC in the annual Women's match at Etihad Stadium for the second straight season.


Wing - Madelane Collier (UNSW/ES) - The 2013 Women's Division One Best and Fairest is making her second appearance in the Team of the Year. After changing clubs to UNSW/ES from Wollongong in the off season, this did not stop Collier having another superb season. Will once again be up there in the vote counting and is a chance to claim back to back medals. Close to the most talented player in the league, Collier was among the Representative side for both games against Canberra where she was named Best on Ground in Game 2 by the opposition coach. Will be one of the keys for the Stingrays if they want to win this Saturday’s Grand Final.


Ruck - Libby Sadler (Sydney University) - Sadler is making her second straight selection in the Team of the Year. After being picked on the interchange bench in the 2013 team, she has stepped up her game to another level and can now call herself the number one ruck in the competition. Can also go forward and kick goals and she demonstrated that this year kicking multiple goals on three occasions. Will come back into the Sydney Uni side for the Grand Final after missing the 2nd Semi Final.


Ruck Rover - Jennifer Lew (Sydney University (c)) - After controversially missing out on selection in 2012, Lew is making her second showing in the Team of the Year. She was an integral part of the Women’s representative side in their win against Canberra but missed the second game due to injury. A tough as nails midfielder, Lew leads by example and will play a pivotal role in Sydney Universities attempt to claim back to back premierships. Has been named captain of the side after also leading her club side to an undefeated season and a Grand Final berth.


Rover - Amanda Farrugia (Macquarie University (vc)) - Farrugia has had a brilliant 2014 and this has resulted in her appearance in a second straight Team of the Year. After claiming every possible award last year including the Women's Division Two Best and Fairest and helping her side, Macquarie University getting promoted to Division One, Farrugia hasn't take a backwards step leading her team to the finals in their first year. Was named in the best every single game in 2014, an unbelievable achievement, with her best performance coming against Sydney Uni in Round 5 when she kicked three goals and was named the Warriors best.


Interchange - Tobi Noble (Newtown) - Noble is also making her third straight appearance in 2014 and is one of the best tall’s in the Women's competition. Her physical presence in the ruck is outstanding and is one of the reasons she was picked for the Representative side in 2014. She is a great performer in the high pressure games and this was shown in the match against Sydney Uni in Round 8 where she was named best on ground for Newtown.


Interchange - Alison Parkin (Balmain) - Parkin is the lone Dockers player in the 2014 Team of the Year. This is her second nomination adding to her 2013 Team of the Year plaque. Parkin has been one of the best players in the competition for over a decade now, using her speed to regularly beat opponents to the football. Was named best on ground in two of Balmain wins this year, highlighting her importance to the Dockers.


Interchange - Nikki Perrett (Penrith) - Perrett is making her first showing in the Team of the Year and has has been an outstanding year to say the least. The in and under midfielder was the main ball winner for the Ramettes pushing the ball forward any way she could. Was a member of the Representative side for Game Two against Canberra after being unavailable for Game 1, showing she was not out of her depth in a higher quality match. In the last eleven games of the year, Perrett was named in the best in every one of them and the Ramettes stormed into the finals.


Interchange - Lara Hilmi (UTS) - The only Shamrocks player to make the Team of the Year in 2014, Hilmi continued on from her impressive 2013 season to be one of the best players in the Women's Division Two competition. Her clean hands at ground level are a highlight and she rarely get beaten one on one. Was named the Shamrocks best player six times from 14 games in 2014. Hilmi was also named in the best for both Representative games against Canberra and was also part of the victorious Canadian side which claimed the International Cup and also saw her named in the World team.



Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.