Southern Power Complete Undefeated Season

Southern Power have claimed the Women's Division Two premiership with a 10 point victory over Wollongong at Blacktown today.

After scores were tied at three quarter time, Southern Power kicked 1 goal 4 to no score to run out 2.6 to 1.2 winners.

With the centre square a mudpit, it was always going to be a tough slog. Players threw themselves at the contest all wanting that premiership medal at the end of the game. This resulted in a low scoring affair with the Power taking a 2 point lead into the first break.

The game continued the same after the break with neither side willing to let the other side get easy possessions. Kathryn Hull was winning plenty of inside ball for the Power while Kimberly Chan was controlling the Saints down back. Jessie Mulholland was the first goal scorer of the day courtesy of a free kick and then 50 metre penalty. At halftime the Saints led by 4 points.

Both teams came out with the will to win in the third term and once again scoring proved very difficult. In another tight affair, a Kathryn Hull goal from the square late in the third term meant the scores were all tied up as we headed into the last quarter.

Southern Power came out with real intent and hit the lead for the first time since the second quarter with Shellee Gibson converting a goal from a tight angle to put the Power 6 points clear. Southern Power controlled most of the final quarter however were unable to put the Saints away but it was still enough with the full time siren sounding and the Power claiming the premiership.

Hull was outstanding all day and was awarded the best on ground medal and she received good support from midfielders Dominique Goom and Louise Glasgow. For the Saints, Kim Chan tried hard all day across half back with fellow defender Casey Moane and half forward Taigen Grenfell.

It has been a great season for Southern Power, after losing the 2013 Grand Final they have gone through the year undefeated and can now call themsleves premiers. For Wollongong, they can look to 2015 with much hope thanks to their young developing list.  

Southern Power                          0.2,  0.2,  1.2,  2.6  (18)

Wollongong Saints                     0.0,  1.0,  1.2,  1.2  (8)


Southern Power : S. Gibson 1, K. Hull 1

Wollongong Saints : J. Mulholland 1


Southern Power : K. Hull, D. Goom, L. Glasgow, K. De Pellegrini, A. McClure, B. North

Wollongong Saints : K. Chan, C. Moane, T. Grenfell, L. Russell, J. Stanton, K. Parker



Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.