Seniors claim Carter-Jesaulenko Shield

The AFL Sydney Senior side played against AFL Canberra at Star Track Oval, Manuka on Saturday evening with the winner to hold the Carter-Jesaulenko shield aloft.

Last time these two teams met, AFL Sydney came away with the win and were looking to repeat the dose but Canberra had other ideas, with the boys from down south kicking the first goal of the game. AFL Canberra were up and about but that would soon end when AFL Sydney star forward Brayden Fowler introduced himself into the game. Fowler ran rings around his opponent kicking four first quarter goals to open up a 28 point lead at the first break.

The second quarter was a tight contest with neither side able to grab any control of the game. It took until the 19th minute mark of the quarter for a goal to be scored and it would be that man again down forward, Fowler, who would kick his fifth to extend the AFL Sydney lead. At the main break, AFL Sydney had opened up a commanding 46 point lead.

The third quarter was much of the same with AFL Sydney controlling the ball all over the ground with Alex Goodall and Alexander Wynn winning plenty of disposals and sending the ball inside fifty multiple times. Fowler was again dominating the forward fifty making it his own, kicking another three for the quarter and bringing his total to 8. The lead had blown out to 65 points when the three quarter time siren sounded.

The fourth quarter was a goal for goal affair with Canberra adding some respectability to the score. Three goals apiece in the last saw the margin finish at 14.21 (105) to 5.7 (37).

Fowler finished with 8 goals for the match and was voted best on ground with Goodall, Wynn and Anthony Robertson supporting him well. For Canberra, Sean Wilkinson, Joseph Hancock and Lucas O’Neill tried hard all day.

In a positive for the league, 15 of the 22 players in the team could have played in the Under 23's team which bodes well for the future.

AFL Sydney 5.4, 7.12,11.14,14.21 (105)

AFL Canberra 1.0,.1,.3,5.7 (37)


AFL Sydney : B. Fowler 8, B. Addison 2, D. Hadden , J. Daniher , J. Kiel , T. Etto

AFL Canberra : M. Ryan , S. Wilkinson , M. Ghirardello , J. Hancock , R. Towill


AFL Sydney : A. Goodall, A. Wynn, B. Fowler, A. Robertson, T. Armitage, J. Weir

AFL Canberra : S. Wilkinson, J. Hancock, L. O'’Neill, M. Ghirardello, L. Wharton, W. Brayshaw

Photo courtsey of


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.