Inaugural AFL Sydney Women's Squad Announced

The inaugural AFL Sydney Women’s Representative squad has been announced for the upcoming two match series against AFL Canberra.

Initially an extended 70 player squad was selected based on 2014 form combined with feedback from each club coach. The extended squad has had two training sessions which has allowed the coaching staff to look over the players and allowed the squad to be narrowed down.

Selecting the final squad proved very difficult with the coaching staff extremely impressed with what they have seen so far and are very excited not only about the upcoming 2 match series but also the next few years of women’s football in Sydney.

The squad will train again this Sunday with the Game 1 team (24 plus 1 emergency) selected next week. The squad will train on Thursday night at BISP Number 1 and then to travel to Canberra for the match on Saturday 7th June.

Game 2 will be played at Blacktown International Sportspark on Saturday 5th July at 12pm.

The selected squad is:

Lael Kassem Auburn Rachel Stack Sydney University
Liali Karra-Hasan Auburn Amy Foo Sydney University
Laura Holdsworth Balmain Maddie Collier UNSW/ES
Alison Parkin Balmain Mai Nguyen UNSW/ES
Lauren Anstey Gosford Courtney Gum UNSW/ES
Emily Cookes Gosford Jemma Still UNSW/ES
Amanda Farrugia Macquarie University Sandra Janjetovic UNSW/ES
Tobi Noble Newtown Melita Morriss UNSW/ES
Verna Iles Newtown Sharni Sleeman UNSW/ES
Georgia Verkuylen Newtown Hannah McIntosh UNSW/ES
Codie Briggs Newtown Anne-Lise Bidou UNSW/ES
Anna Ruut Newtown Sasha Banki UNSW/ES
Alex Schroder Newtown Lauren O'Brien UNSW/ES
Natalie Cammilleri Penrith Nic Vrachnas UNSW/ES
Nikki Perrett Penrith Remi Banuelos UNSW/ES
Kathryn Hull Southern Power Lara Hilmi UTS
Alexandra Tegg Southern Power Lisa Bowker UTS
Kristy De Pellegrini Southern Power Kate Lawson Western Wolves
Stephanie Walker Sydney University Melissa Freckleton Western Wolves
Jennifer Lew Sydney University Michaela Eckman Western Wolves
Ashlee Morgan Sydney University Nicci Kennedy Wollongong

As previously advised, Dean Connors steps into the women’s program as head coach for the first time and he is ably supported by a strong team.

Head Coach

Dean Connors

Assistant Coaches

Dan Ranson

Krissie Steen

Simon Berry

Congratulations to all players selected in the first ever AFL Sydney Women’s representative squad.

The final team will be announced next week with all selections published on the website.



Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.