Third Time Lucky For Southern Power

Southern Power have claimed the Division One premiership trophy with a commanding 85 point victory over UNSW/ES at Blacktown.

For Southern Power it was third time lucky with the side losing the past two grand finals in Division One to 2013 Premier Division premiers Manly-Warringah but finally claimed the flag running out 16.9 to 3.2 winners.

Southern Power controlled the first quarter but some inaccurate kicking kept UNSW/ES in the game however the Power still held a 17 point lead.

The second term was where the Power effectively wrapped the match up as they kicked seven goals to two to lead by 45 points at the main break.

The second half was much of the same as Southern Power were able to keep UNSW/ES goalless for the half while building on their lead and were finally crowned Division One premiers.

Forward Alan Fritsch kicked four goals and was awarded B.O.G. He was well supported by Adrian Enright off the half back who reguarly repelled the Bulldogs raids while coach Rod Craig through the middle was also very good.

For the Bulldogs Michael Ensor was strong with forwards Christopher Jordain and Fletcher Rowe presenting hard all day.


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.