Mandurah beats Joondalup in underdog upset

Report by Jon Daly


Mandurah City enjoyed an underdog victory against Joondalup United, beating their north-side rivals 2-0 at Securitas Protect Stadium on Saturday in the PS4 NPLWA.

Jordan Rhodes scored the first goal of the match with a 20th-minute penalty.

Slade Rule extended Mandurah’s lead eight minutes later, when a cross from Ryan Francis gave him the chance score inside a crowded box.

Joondalup’s best chance came when Richard Howles' 54th-minute penalty was saved by Mandurah goalkeeper Cyril Sharrock.

Coming into round 15, Mandurah City sat on the bottom of the ladder with a single win, but Mandurah coach Doug Hesketh said Saturday’s victory over the fellow NPL newcomers had given his team a boost.

“We have had a real bad spell of injuries,” he said.

“Out of the 23 man squad we started with, we lost 9 through injury.

“We’ve had a bit of a mixed start to the league season. I think now you can see some of the experienced lads coming back.

“I thought the lads were fantastic, I thought their spirit has never been broken.”

There was no love lost between these rivals with Joondalup’s Rowdy Yates and Mandurah’s Joseph O’Brien and Thomas Straker picking up yellow cards.

A Howles shot went over the bar in the 12th minute and Josh Whitmore hit the post in the 17th and 44th minutes.

Joondalup United coach Nick Jennings was disappointed with the result.

“A win today would have put us on the verge of the top four and that is why we are so disappointed,” he said.

“We have let ourselves down today, we have standards and we didn’t meet them.

“We didn’t match their desire and commitment and I think the better team on the day won.

 “I just really do think you've got to go to war down here, and we weren’t ready, they are a big strong team on a small pitch.”

Mandurah City 2 (Rhodes, 20min, 10, Rule 12)

Joondalup United 0 

Saturday, June 3, 2017

Securitas Protect Stadium

Kick-off: 3:00pm

Referee: Tom Glavovic

Assistant Referees: Ammar Timour, Wayne Nurse

Mandurah City: 1. Cyril Sharrock, 2. Mitchell Firth, 3. Matthew Stares, 3. Jeffrey Bright, 5. Thomas Straker, 6. Joseph O’Brien, 7. Jack Eades, 8. Andrew Brown, 9. Sean Troup, 10. Jordan Rhodes, 11. Ryan Francis, 12. Slade Rule, 14. Kevin Castle

Substitutes not used: 21. Bradley Eiffe, 13. Lance Louvie, 16. Bailley Mullins

Yellow cards: O’Brien, Straker

Red cards: nil

Joondalup United: 1. James Bosdet, 2. Joel Ledsham, 3. Rowdy Yates, 5. Joe Stocker, 6. Guy McDonald, 8. Josh Whitmore, 9. Richard Howles, 10. Alex Taylor, 11. Josh Booysen, 13. Chris Pugh, 16. Ross Edwards, 18. Anthony Taylor, 23. Jay Marsden, 25. Greg Pellow

Substitutes not used: 21. Jack Nunn, 15. Luke Doyle

Yellow cards: Yates

Red cards: nil


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.



Major Sponsors

Notice Board