Perth SC win title amid last-day drama

Report by Navrin Secker

Perth SC secured the NPL WA title on a dramatic afternoon as a Paul Zimarino double gave them a 2-0 win over Joondalup United at Percy Doyle.

The Azzurri still needed Perth Glory to slip up and they did just that, going down 1-0 at Subiaco.

Perth SC coach Ramon Falzon was naturally ecstatic as his side celebrated a second championship in three seasons after the final whistle.

“It feels brilliant,” he said.

“The boys worked hard all season; we were always chasing, chasing behind all season but we kept believing and pushing.

“Credit to all the boys I’m very proud of them, and it's good to see them rewarded for the hard work they have put in.”

The match burst into life when Zimarino went down in the box, leading to penalty shouts from Perth, but the referee waived play on.

Joondalup, whose relegation was confrmed weeks ago, were not going to make life easy for the visitors and they found the back of the net through a Lee Jones header, but he was judged to be offside.

And the visitors broke the deadlock just seconds later when Zimarino tapped home from close range.

The Azzurri were looking dominant and Nicholas Ambrogio nearly doubled their advantage but he was wide of the target.

Niccolo Sabatini was the next to go close for Perth but his chipped effort came back out off the crossbar and into the goalkeeper’s arms.

Perth’s dominance paid off as Zimarino thumped a bouncing ball past goalkeeper and into the bottom corner, making it 2-0 as the half drew to a close.

The visitors came out firing in the second half and Matthew Milenkovic nearly added a third goal but was denied by the goalkeeper.

With the game in the bag it was all about what was going on at Rosalie Paek and with less than 15 minutes remaining there was a mighty cheer from the travelling supporters as their mobile phone alerts relayed news of Subiaco's goal.

After the final whistle Perth SC spent five nervous minutes waiting for confirmation of the Subiaco-Glory result. When it came the Azzurri players and supporters erupted in celebration as they realised they were the champions again.

Joondalup United 0
Perth SC 2 (Zimarino 11mins, 42)
Percy Doyle Reserve
Sarurday, August 25
Kick-off: 3pm
Referee: Tom Glavovic
Assistant referees: Harry Bolan, Darren Quinlan

Joondalup United: 1. James BODSET, 2. Johnny CHALMERS, 6. Sam WYNNE, 7. Matthew SPARROW, 9. Lee JONES, 10. Elliot TATTERSALL, 11. Anthony TAYLOR, 15. Callum STOCKS, 16. Graeme REID (14. Liam MOONEY 54mins), 17. Matthew CHERRIE (12. William KESSEL 78mins), 19. Adam BUCKLEY (8. Rudy PROCTER 85mins)
Unused substitutes: 3. James SPURRY, 21. Luke GREEN
Yellow cards: Nil
Red cards: Nil

Perth SC: 1. Francis SOALE, 2. Alex SILLA, 5. Niccolo SABATINI (16. Kieran COLWELL 86mins), 6. Harley ORR, 8. Tom KING (4. Adrian MADASCHI 57mins), 10. Nicholas AMBROGIO (7. Aleksander JOVIC 64mins), 11. Matthew MILENKOVIC, 12. Jordan DE LEO, 13. Rocco PIZZATA, 14. Kristan SANTICH, 20. Paul ZIMARINO
Unused substitutes: 19. Aly NAZARI, 23. Malek KUC
Yellow cards: Nil
Red cards: Nil


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.



Major Sponsors

Notice Board