Balcatta and Glory share the spoils

Report by Callum George

Photo credit: fotoenzo


Balcatta came from behind to snatch a point with a Luccas Mello penalty 10 minutes from time in their round 17 PS4 NPLWA match, cancelling out Bayley Brown-Montgomery’s goal of the season contender.

Brown-Montgomery struck on 13 minutes with an outstanding long-range strike into the top corner that gave the goalkeeper no chance.

The home side almost levelled immediately from Josip Vujica’s close-range effort, but Kyle McDoanld pulled off a fantastic save.

Glory was in full control in the first half, as Balcatta struggled to create anything in the final third, but they didn’t capitalise on that domination and the hosts came out firing in the second half.

Mello tapped home after McDonald’s initial save, but the goal was disallowed when the linesman’s flag was raised for offside.

Glory had their moments to double the lead with Gomo Dukuly and Yacoub Mustafa both squandering chances to put the game out of Balcatta’s reach.

Mello continued to cause problems, as his deflected strike ricocheted off the post, and he would eventually get his goal with 10 minutes remaining.

A penalty was awarded to the hosts after a scramble in the area and the forward made no mistake, dispatching into the bottom corner.

Glory captain Daniel Stynes almost restored the visitor’s lead from the kick-off when he forced a fingertip save from Domenico Savoldelli.

Marco Chadinha had Balcatta’s best chance of a late winner when his effort flew over the bar, as both teams rued missed chances and shared the points.


Balcatta FC 1 (Mello 80pen)

Perth Glory FC 1 (Brown-Montgomery 13min)

Saturday, June 17, 2017

Grindleford Reserve

Kick-off: 3:00pm

Referee: Michal Jasinki

Balcatta FC:GK. Domenico SAVOLDELLI, 2. Rudnei NOGUEIRA, 3. Juston ONEK, 4. Calum O”CONNELL, 5. Josip VUJICA, 6.Nicolas TATASCIORE (18. Ben MEREDITH, 76’), 9. Luccas MELLO (Dejan ANDRIC 90’), 10. Jonathan CORNESS, 12. Anton DE FRANCESCH, 15. Carmelo GLUFFRE, 16. Marco CHADINHA,

Unused Substitutes:  8. Brennan BORZECKI, 20. Tom PELLIZARI, 21. Luke HUTCHINSON

Yellow Cards: De Francesch 51’, Onek 56’

Red Cards: Nil


Perth Glory FC: GK. Kyle MCDONALD, 2. Walter SCOTT, 3. Joseph MARINO, 4. Riley WARLAND (14. Harry QUIGLEY 87’), 5. Cameron MURRAY, 6. Jack LEECH, 7. Bayley BROWN-MONTGOMERY, 8. Callum TIMMINS, 9. Gomo DUKULY (13. Michael DOMFEH 65’), 10. Daniel STYNES, 11. Yacoub MUSTAFA (12. Michael MCDOUGALL 68’)

Unused Substitutes: 15. Thomas, EIJGEHHUIJSEN 20. Ciaran MILLER

Yellow Cards: Nil

Red Cards: Nil






Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.



Major Sponsors

Notice Board