Glory Youth snatch late point on ANZAC day

Report by Jessica Woolcott

Henry Durr scored in stoppage time as Perth Glory Youth pinched a 2-2 draw against Floreat Athena in their ANZAC day clash at E&D Litis Stadium.

Nick Talimdioski cancelled out Lewis McMahon’s goal, but Floreat went ahead a second time through Bobby Wilson in an evenly contested game.

But Durr struck late on to prevent Floreat from going outright top of the PS4 NPLWA, and earn what Glory coach John Gibson thought was a deserved point.

“Obviously we knew what the challenge was for them tonight. If they won, they would go top of the table,” he said.

“But I thought the boys were quality tonight. We competed really, really well and tested them.”

The night started with an ANZAC memorial service, as both teams joined the crowd in observing a pre-game minute’s silence on the pitch.

McMahon netted the opening goal eight minutes before half time when he tapped in from Kris Gate’s cross.

Glory equalised on 64 minutes though as Nick Talimdioski beat Dejan Aleksic to put the ball in the back of the net.

Bobby Wilson restored Floreat’s lead seven minutes later, but Durr scored superbly from outside the box with virtually the last kick of the game to deny the hosts.

Floreat Athena captain Ludovic Boi was disappointed that the team couldn’t hold on to claim all three points.

“I thought we controlled most of the game,” he said.

“We’re still undefeated this season. But I think most of the boys are (taking this game as a loss) because we should have won it.”

Both teams acknowledged how special it was to play on ANZAC day and hoped they could continue the tradition for years to come.

Floreat will look to continue their unbeaten start to the season at home to Subiaco, while Perth Glory travel north to play ECU Joondalup.

Floreat Athena 2 (McMahon 37min, Wilson 71’)
Perth Glory 2 (Talimdioski 64min, Durr 90+3’)
Saturday, April 25, 2015
E&D Litis Stadium
Kick-off: 6:00pm
Referee: Stuart Muldoon
Assistant Referees: David Scragg, Alexander Best 

Floreat Athena: 2. Blair GOVAN, 3. Jack ALLEN, 5. Bobby WILSON, 9. Jason POTTIER, 10. Andrew SCALDAFERRO, 11.Dennis GALAN, 12. Kris GATE (19. Matt FRANKEN) 14. Ludovic Boi, 15. Anthony BAFOBUSHA, 20. Lewis MCMAHON, 23. Dejan ALEKSIC
Substitutes not used: 18. Nathan GROSTATE, 17. Ryan RILEY
Yellow Cards: 15. Anthony BAFOBUSHA 58’
Red Cards: Nil

Perth Glory Youth: 1. Jordan FRANKEN, 2. Gian ALBANO, 3. Jacob COLLARD (Sean TROUP 90’) 4. Nathan COSTELLO, 5. Tom KING, 6. Calvin WHITNEY, 7. Stef VALENTINI (13. Henry Durr 87’), 8. Dejan SPASESKI, 9. Joseph KNOWLES, 10. Slobodan VULIN (Matthew NTOUMENOPOULOS 76’), 11. Nick TALIMDIOSKI
Substitutes not used: 20. Jordan YOUNG
Yellow Cards: 4.Nathan COSTELLO 32’, 8.Dejan SPASESKI 33’, 10. Slobodan VULIN 55’
Red Cards: Nil


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.



Major Sponsors

Notice Board