Perth clinch win over Cockburn

Report by Lenny Fogliani

Two first half goals was enough for Perth to notch their second PS4 NPLWA win of the season in a 2-0 defeat of Cockburn City at Dalmatinac Park.

Cockburn goalkeeper Curtis Aspden denied Josh Wilkins in the opening stages of the game, before Nick Ambrogio hit the crossbar after receiving a nice through ball from Carlo Coelho.

Despite being up against it early on, Jonathan Corness was causing problems on the right wing and Feisal Zaw was pulling the strings in the midfield.

But on 22 minutes, Ambrogio skipped past Cockburn’s defence and converted after a nice team move from defence to give the visitors the lead.

Perth gained belief from that goal and came close after a magnificent mazy-run and shot from Rocco Pizzata, before Wilkins did double the lead five minutes before half time.

Cockburn came out firing after the break with some bright attacking play out wide from their wingers.

But they did not take their chances as Perth came close to netting a third 20 minutes before the end.

Aspden misread a long ball into the hosts penalty area, allowing Ashley Rosindale to get past him, but the goalkeeper made up for his error by getting back to save on the line.

Rosindale had another opportunity moments later, as he turned his man inside out, before forcing Aspden into another good save.

Cockburn had two late chances to pull a goal, but Liam Murray and the top-scorer Rory Patterson were off target with their headers.

The home side now travel to Alfred Skeet Reserve to take on Armadale, while Perth host the first placed Bayswater City in what shapes up as an enthralling contest.

Cockburn City 0
Perth SC 2 (Ambrogio 22mins, Wilkins 41’)
Saturday, April 11, 2015
Dalmatinac Park
Kick-Off: 7pm
Referee: David Bruce
Assistant Referees: Michal Jasinski, Stuart Muldoon

Cockburn City: 1. Curtis ASPDEN, 3. Jonathan CORNESS, 4. Euen GRANT, 5. Alan CARROLL, 6. Craig TONE (9. Liam MURRAY 58), 7. Friday Zico (16. Julian TELES 32), 8. David ARAYA, 10. Rory PATTERSON, 12. Feisal ZAW, 13. Blake ADAMS, 15. Harry O’BRIEN, 17. Eamon MCNEILIS (2. Josh KUSER 79)
Substitutes Not Used: 23. Jack ADAMS
Yellow Cards: Patterson 42, Carroll 47, Adams 73
Red Cards: Nil

Perth SC 1. Alexander DUNN, 4. Callum O’CONNELL, 5. Dean EVANS, 6. Clark KELTIE, 7. Carlo COELHO, 8. Aden DA LUZ (18. Josh PEREIRA 79), 11. Josh WILKINS, 12. Marco SANTALUCIA, 13. Rocco PIZZATA (15. Jordan DE LEO 90), 14. Mark PRITCHARD, 16. Nick AMBROGIO (10. Ashley ROSINDALE 65), 17. Reece VITTIGLIA,
Substitutes Not Used: 9. Harley ORR, 24. Domenico SAVOLDELLI
Yellow Cards: Pritchard 74, Wilkins 85
Red Cards: Nil


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.



Major Sponsors

Notice Board