WNPL: Get to Know Your WNPL, CUWFC & AUSC

The PlayStation 4 Women’s National Premier League South Australia commences on Friday night with 2 double-header matches playing out at both Adelaide Shores Football Centre and Elite Systems Football Centre. 

Continue to learn more about your WNPL teams below, with profiles on Cumberland United WFC and Adelaide University > 

Club Name: Cumberland United Women’s Football Club
Head Coach: Clay Glen
Captain: Kris Swaffer
2015 Player of the Year: Abby Touchette 


Cumberland United have been playing soccer since 1941 and while women had been playing soccer for many years it was not until the late 70’s that a women’s competition was formed. 

In 1980 the Cumberland Vixens established winning the League and Cup in the first year. Soon thereafter two teams were formed and numbers were becoming an issue to schedule teams on pitches. 

In 1985 the women’s teams moved to the pitches at the Marion Sports Club and the women’s teams were no longer part of the CUFC. 

In 1995 women’s soccer, in schools and at club level, sees a Cumberland team re-emerge at CUFC and again won the League and Cup. 

1997 Cumberland United Soccer Club women’s committee encouraged the development of a junior league within the South Australian Women’s Soccer Association and was an inaugural participant in the Under 14 competition. 

From 2000-3 CUFC - Women fielded a team in each age group: U12, U16s, U13s and U10s. Space was now at a premium and with growing numbers the women’s side of CUFC was starting to impact severely on being able to schedule all teams, men and women, over a weekend and in 2004 the men and women formerly separated creating Cumberland United Women’s Football Club and was an integral club in the development of the Women’s game in SA and South Australian Women’s Soccer Association (SAWSA). 

As significant as separating from the men’s club was so too was the move to the Women’s Memorial Playing Fields at St Mary’s home of the Bangka Memorial. 

Since 2004 CUWFC has continued to grow through developing and providing a pathway for our young players. CUWFC is a club with a vision and commitment to the development of the women’s game, coaches and players alike. CUWFC has been successful across all grades from its time with CUFC through to today as the CUWFC winning numerous Cup and League titles including numerous doubles. 

It has continually provided players who have gone onto to represent SAPSASA, FFSA, NTC, Regional Teams and other State based National teams. 

As a Women’s only club CUWFC is committed to developing the women’s game from the grass roots working with the FFSA and FFA through clinics, schools and the local community providing dedicated pathways and encouraging girls to become their best. 

Club Honours:                                  

  • 1980 Cup and League Champions
  • 1995 Cup and League Champions
  • 2006 League Champions
  • 2014 Premier League Coach of the Year – Barry McGrath

Players to Watch: Mia Lundquist, Anna Pritchard, Lauren Chilvers

Fun Fact:

Emma Checker played all her Junior football at CUWFC, has represented Australia at U17, U20 and Senior level is currently a Young Matilda and Canberra United player and played for the Lady Reds and Melbourne Victory in the W-League. She still calls Cumberland home and when her busy W-League and National Commitments allow she enjoys working with all of our juniors. 

Interesting Stats:

  • Ø  Largest Women’s only club in SA
  • Ø  Kris Swaffer: CUWFC WNPL Captain ex Matilda (1999 FIFA Women's World Cup in the United States), Adelaide United W-League, W-League Assistant Coach
  • Ø  Steve Maxwell: CUWFC Football Director ex Socceroo, Adelaide City 

Club Name: Adelaide University Soccer Club Inc (AUSC- Uni-Dinamos)

Head Coach: Tracey Jenkins

Captain: Ellie Bills

2015 Player of the Year Latimer-Dodd B&F Winner: Maria "Cote" Rojas 


Adelaide University Soccer Club (AUSC) began in 1935 affiliated with Adelaide University Sport in 1936 (80th Anniversary this year) with the Women's team starting in the first season of organised SA women's soccer in 1978. 

Club Honours:

(Division 1 / Premier)

League champions- 3

Cup winners- 7


League Champions- 15

Cup Wins- 20

Players to Watch: Chantelle Ryder, Esther Heywood-Smith, Maria 'Cote' Rojas, Amielia Ebbs 

Club Milestone: 80th Anniversary season (March 26th, 2016) 

Player Milestones: Ellie Bills has played every season beginning with the AUSC's first junior girls team in 2004. She plays 300 games in 2016 for the club. 

2016 Events: 80th Anniversary Dinner & Awards night (October date tbc) 

Fun Fact: AUSC has had one Socceroo - Ian J Evans Australia v India @ MCG 1938, 3 Matilda's (Moya Dodd, Jill Latimer and Tracey Jenkins) 

Interesting Stats: 

  • Ø  AUSC women have had teams play in every season since 1978 (2016- 39th consecutive season)
  • Ø  AUSC holds both the Original Cups for Premier (Division 1) and Reserves (Bailetti-Coca Cola Cup & Vic Smith Cup) after winning both 3 years in a row during the 80s. Which have finally found a home in the new Graduates Clubhouse after living many years in a box at Ann Sergeants house! 
  • Ø  Moya Dodd - Australian soccer official and former player. She is a vice-president of the Asian Football Confederation, a member of the FIFA Executive, FFA board member, a former Matilda's Vice Captain and AUSC player and life member. 

Cumberland United WFC and Adelaide Uni SC kick-off their 2016 campaign in the PlayStation 4 National Premier League South Australia this Friday night at Adelaide Shores Football Centre, 8:15pm.



Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.