Sail Sydney 2014

by Tim Edwards

A good entry of 45 open and 47 intermediate competitors attended and racing was held in light winds, surrounded by roving storm cells that threatened racing in the harbour.

Saturday was light and shifty, with local knowledge clearly helping in taking advantage of a wind bend off the shore to the right. It was pleasing to see that QLD had the boat speed of the NSW front runners during the weekend.

The NSW squad were strong competitors and current National Champion Otto Henry won the regatta on Sunday after racing was cut short because of electrical storms. 


QLD Placings

Charlie Piacun, 13th Intermediate Fleet

Zach Edwards, 14th Open Fleet

Ashleigh Swadling, 15th Open Fleet

Hamish Thorn, 20th Open Fleet

Taylor Rogers, 22nd Open Fleet

Blake Wilson, 28th Open Fleet

Riley Cameron, 35th Open Fleet

Tom Wright, 45th Open Fleet 


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.


IODA International Optimist Dinghy Association

AIODA Australian International Optimist Dinghy Association

NSWIODA NSW International Optimist Dinghy Association

VIODA Victoria International Optimist Dinghy Association

TIODA Tasmania International Optimist Dinghy Association

IODASA International Optimist Dinghy Association of South Australia

WAIODA Western Australia International Optimist Dinghy Association

Photo Gallery