Beaconsfield the best of the best

With the curtain coming down on the 14-year history of the Casey Cardinia-South East Football Netball League it’s worth reflecting on the most dominant era from any team in the competition.

Beaconsfield’s A Grade netballers won a remarkable five-consecutive premierships – from 2008 to 2012 – three times breaking the heart of Pakenham before backing up with victories over Keysborough and ROC.

Shona Osborne began the run for the Eagles, coaching the team to its first-three titles. She then handed over the reins to Jess Brady for the 2011 success before Bec Pryor took control for the 2012 triumph.

Pryor was a very proud coach after her girls had flocked to the podium and held five fingers high in the sky after their last success. The Eagles had defeated ROC after losing to the Kangaroos twice during the home-and-away season, but found a direct path to the big dance with a win in the second semi-final.

The Eagles had put their unchallenged big-game experience to good use.

“The girls did believe in themselves,” Pryor said after the 2012 victory.

“They stepped up a level and knew what it took to win. Sometimes when you win, as a coach you still don’t feel great as some girls might not get on the court. As a coach I feel really proud, nine girls all got on the court and played great netball. All girls contributed to the win.”

Pryor couldn’t nominate a best on court, instead attributing the win to a team effort.

However, she said the umpires’ best on court Jasmine Maddocks was a well-deserved recipient.

“Jasmine is a fantastic leader and really takes control on the court,” she said.

The grand final was no exception, with Maddocks leading a fit and determined team to a flag.

“We felt confident we would get on top of them and that’s what we did in the end.”

Maddocks, now Jasmine Jones, was the star performer of the competition through that dominant period for the Eagles, winning two league best and fairest awards and a staggering seven MVP’s, stamping her status as the premium mid-courter in the competition.

She may well be the best player to have pulled on a netball skirt in the history of the CCFL and SEFNL.

Maddocks was the only player to take part in all five premierships for the Eagles, with Bridget Gargan, Jacinta Goldsack, Kellie Holland and Kylie Clarke completing that core group of players with four titles each.

Danielle Llinares, Sarah Hogan, Andi Dickson, Bianca Sanzaro, Jennifer Driessen, Regan Brokenshire and Sarah Murphy all claimed multiple titles over that five-year journey.

A total of 25 players and coaches took part in that wonderful era of success, here is the full list.



Jasmine Maddocks (5 premierships), Bridget Gargan (Pryor), Jacinta Goldsack, Kellie Holland and Kylie Clark (4), Danielle Llinares, Sarah Hogan and Shona Osborne – Coach (3), Rebecca Pryor, Andi Dickson, Jennifer Driessen, Regan Brokenshire, Sarah Murphy (Welch) and Bianca Sanzaro (2), Rebecca Allen, Abbie Sheers, Claire Dean, Corinne Mackley, Danielle Cameron, Georgie Benbow, Jessica Brady, Kaitlyn Paligorov, Kim Kennedy, Naomi Allardice and Regan Maddocks (1).  


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.

SEFNL Partners



Club Links - Navbar

Choose a Club