Defenders Dominate Gators Awards

Summer O'Brien & Megan Price (Albert Perez/FQ)

Words: Matt Dorman
Image: Albert Perez/Football Queensland

Summer O’Brien’s dream season has extended to winning the Players’ Player Award at The Gap Women’s presentation night, while Megan Price was named Most Consistent.

Fellow defender Catherine O’Neill was also recognised with the Most Improved award after the trio all played key roles in keeping the competition’s tightest defence.

Attack-minded midfielder Leah Curtis led the way at the other end as her 22 goals sealed the club’s Golden Boot.

New Brisbane Roar debutant O’Brien – who completed 90 minutes in Sunday’s 2-1 Westfield W-League win over Canberra United – received the major honour for starting all 22 matches as Gators swept to the PlayStation® 4 NPL Queensland Women’s double.

Now a first-choice member of Roar’s defence, the 24-year-old beat out strong competition to be named Players’ Player for Rob Askew’s side.

“It’s incredibly humbling,” O’Brien said.

“I’m really shocked but I wouldn’t be here without my teammates’ support and especially Rob Askew who has been a role model for me.”

O’Brien will continue her Westfield W-League journey away to Western Sydney Wanderers this weekend and says being part of the national top-tier is the ultimate experience.

“It’s something even six months ago I wouldn’t have dreamed of,” she said.

“Now I’m living my dream. It’s amazing.”

For fullback Price, the Most Consistent title adds to her own list of 2015 achievements having last month turned out for the PlayStation 4 NPL Queensland Women’s Select against Brisbane Roar.

Eight Gators players appeared in that match with O’Brien, Ruth Blackburn and Gabe Marzano all helping Roar to their opening-round upset of Canberra at Suncorp Stadium.

The Gap FC Award Winners

Players’ Player – Summer O’Brien
Most Consistent – Megan Price
Most Improved – Catherine O’Neill
Golden Boot – Leah Curtis

Players’ Player – Victoria McDonald & Sarah Miller
Most Consistent – Ashlee Downs
Most Improved – Lauren Butler

Players’ Player – Ali Pittis
Most Consistent – Georgina Chandler
Most Improved – Laine Sunderland

Players’ Player – Emileigh Bowman
Most Consistent – Gabby Proctor
Most Improved – Charlotte Whitaker

Club Player of the Future – Charli McLennan
Club Captain’s Medal – Laine Sunderland
Lions Best & Fairest – Gabby Proctor


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.